We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #28 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our thanks to Carlos and Roelf-Jan for the wonderful experience. The Breakfasts were terrific. The room was very clean. All recommendations that we received from Carlos turned out well. The last surprise was when we checked out, Roelf-Jan drove us to the train station. That was unexpected! I would stay here again if my travels ever take me to Amsterdam in the future.
Thanks, again, Gary and Lee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
letterkenny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, the owners are friendly, the place is clean and comfortable.The house is very old, 1617, and has a nice atmosphere. Our room , the tulip room was really cosy, both nights we slept very well. Great location and our room overlooked the beautiful Herengracht canal. A great effort is made each morning with the breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patspizzaLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thanks to Carlos and Roelf-Jan we had a wonderful time at the Sunhead. The breakfast was divine, the decorations fantastic - one in particular - the tin whale near the entrance captured our hearts, the three colored cat was sweet, lovely scents and sounds very also inviting and of course both hosts were excellent. To combat my jetlag and offset the snoring of a certain person (not the hosts) I was offered a separate room with look at the canal for no charge which I am eternally grateful for. This is the place where you feel home and being taken care off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Sunhead of 1617 B&B with my father for a long weekend. Carlos and Roelf-Jan were truly excellent hosts. Situated in a lovely neighbourhood not far from the train station, the whole house is beautifully furnished and decorated, complete with colourful wall paintings by Carlos. We stayed in the Narcissus room which is at the top of the house and features a fabulous high exposed ceiling. The bedroom space was incredibly clean and the bathroom had excellent fixtures and a great shower that stayed hot with a good steady water pressure. We didn't mind that the room didn't have a TV and we were impressed with the Krups instant coffee maker provided. Breakfast was amazing! Carlos cooked a lovely plate of scrambled eggs with sundried tomatoes, ham, mushrooms and basil on the first day and an open toasted sandwich of tomato, mozzarella and pesto on the second day. The meal was also served with bread and croissants, a lovely fruit smoothie and fresh coffee. We felt truly spoilt. Carlos and Roelf-Jan take pride in what they do and great care of their guests. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Such an excellent B&B to stay in Amsterdam. I stayed with my friend for 3 days and it was just perfect. A very comfortable bed that can be split into two!!! Very clean, spacious, well-designed, and quite. We stayed in the the Tulip Room which is on the top floor and facing the Herengracht canal. Such a view. The room has a high ceiling with it's private bath and very well cleaned everyday. The location was just a few minutes walk from central station, the Dam, Anne Frank House. Even if it is near central the place is still situated in a quite area.

The breakfast was just not delicious but presented so beautifully (our breakfast on day one consisted of freshly squeezed juice, fruit salad, smoked salmon, ham, cheese, freshly baked bread, tea, coffee, boiled eggs AND croissants).

Carlos and Roelf-Jan, made us feel right at home (which included helping us with our luggage up the very steep stairs-which are typical of these beautiful Dutch homes!). And Carlos was just so fabulous and funny and a very good conversationalist. He will tell you all the necessary tips possible about Amsterdam. They have made our stay so wonderful and meaningful. Thank you Sunhead of 1617. Will definitely recommend your B&B to our friends who would be visiting Amsterdam. More power.

Room Tip: Tulip Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a really lovely time! We wanted to book the Tulip Room as it looked lovely on the website but it was already booked so ended up in Narcissus. It was absolutely lovely and we were really happy with it - spacious, spotless and very tastefully decorated. I don't know why people mark this place down on the steep stairs up to the rooms. It's a high townhouse-what do you expect?! As long as you are able bodied it is fine so please ignore any whingeing about that!

Sunhead is located in the most lovely part of the city, very close to the Anne Frank House (book tickets ahead of your visit-it is well worth going even if it is a rather sad experience but they respectfully portray this real life tragic story).

One of the best parts of staying here was coming down to Carlos's beautiful breakfasts each morning-I was genuinely excited to savour the innovative and beautifully prepared meals each day. The main dish was more of a brunch than a breakfast dish which suites us very well and these were accompanied by croissants, fresh bread and preserves, not to mention fruit juice and a home made smoothie, plus tea and coffee!

Carlos and Roelf-Jan are just lovely and will look after you very well and Carlos's stories are particularly entertaining!!! I highly recommend a stay here-it was fantastic on all levels and we certainly intend to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinegirl_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay while visiting Amsterdam. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are gourmet, and the hosts are charming, witty, smart, and very helpful. We enjoyed our morning conversations with Carlos and Roelf-Jan. They always put a smile on our faces and got us off to a good start. This glorious B&B is in a perfect location for walking or taking public transportation. There are also many great places to eat close by. We can't say enough about this wonderful place and it's superb hosts. We highly recommend Sunhead of 1617 and will would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#102 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing