We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Dutch canal B&B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Dutch canal B&B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the Tulip Room for three nights in early August 2012. It was one of the best B&B experiences I have ever had right from my initial enquiry to our check-out.

Sunhead of 1617 is located on the Herengracht canal a short distance from the train station. This was important to us as we were coming in by train to Amsterdam Central. Upon confirmation of our reservation, Carlos sent me a detailed description of the walking route from the station (about 20 mins). It was spot on.

The B&B is a true canal home located in a quiet neighbourhood. The house is narrow with a pleasant main floor breakfast room. A tight winding staircase leads to the rooms. We had the Tulip Room which is on the top floor with a wonderful canal view. The tradeoff is that you need to carry your luggage up the stairs. This can be quite a chore but well worth it. For those with heavy luggage I would suggest a room on a lower level.

Sunhead is a short walk to the main streets or Anne Frank Huis. This allows visitors to quickly access one of the trams. We had a great time just strolling the canal-side streets and eating in small cafes.

Morning breakfasts were great. Carlos and Roelf-Jan always greeted visitors with a smile and had a nice table set up for guests. The breads and coffee were fresh. We had three different hot, homemade breakfasts (omelets, lox, fresh herbs) over the course of our visit. All were very tasty and made with the flair of a great cook. Very enjoyable.

If you are looking for a comfortable, real Dutch canal experience then Sunhead of 1617 is the place.

Room Tip: The Tulip Room is on the top floor of the B&B. It offers a high ceiling with wooden beams, lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank To_Far_From_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
371
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August and found the B&B to be really enchanting. It is in a wonderful location, overlooking a canal. The house itself is beautiful. We stayed in the Jasmine Room that was stylishly furnished and had every comfort. Breakfasts were delicious in the charming dining room decorated with Carlos’ own paintings. And Carlos and Roelf-Jahn are extremely helpful and friendly. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the Tulip Room for three nights in July 2012. What a wonderful experience! Yes the stairs were steep and windy but this only added to the ambience of staying in a canal home. We enjoyed the canal view from this room and it was wonderful to watch and hear the canal traffic below. The room was well-appointed and the bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and creative and were especially delightful becuase Carlos was so fun to visit with. We would definitely recommend the Sunhead!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDalenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our third visit to Amsterdam and our first stay at the Sunhead of 1617. We could not have been happier with our choice.

Carlos and Roelf-Jan were wonderful hosts who were happy to share their obvious love for their city. Our room--the Tulip room--overlooked the canal and offered both charm and comfort. Making guest rooms for the modern traveler fit into classic buildings can understandably be a challenge, but we appreciated the thoughtful and creative use of space that resulted in a thoroughly comfortable accommodation. Nothing felt cramped and there was plenty of room to relax with a coffee from the excellent in-room espresso maker.

As other travelers have commented, the location is ideal, particularly for those looking to enjoy Amsterdam's quieter side in lovely restaurants and friendly cafés and brown bars. Yet it is still a quick tram ride or a pleasant walk to the city's major sights and museums.

We are glad we chose the Sunhead and recommend it enthusiastically. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotchNSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As many other reviews mention this B&B is well-located, beautifully designed and the breakfasts are very tasty. Carlos is an artist who did most of the decoration and paintings around the house, and it is impressive. He is also very knowledgeable about the city and gives great suggestions. We tried all of them and not one disappointed.

Since i haven't seen many reviews describing the "Iris" room (second floor, facing the back) I thought i'd share a few thoughts. First, i actually preferred the back location to the one facing the canal. Yes, you will be looking at the rooftops of the building next to you, but this is actually a nice view! After spending all day exploring it is really nice to come back to the place where it's VERY quiet and relaxing. You can open the windows and not worry about any noise whatsoever. We never heard other guests either. Someone mentioned that Iris room is somewhat dark, but i didn't think so. This is the room where the beds can not be separated, but we found that mattresses, pillows and blankets were very comfortable. The space is ample, the task lighting is convenient and the decor is lovely. This room also provides a great value for the $$.

There are a few minor suggestions i would dare to make:

- It would be nice to have internet login instruction in the room. When we checked in we never got that information, yet we really needed to check train schedules before the morning. That meant bothering Carlos after hours on his private time...Awkward.

- The shower in Iris room is indeed very dark. The energy saving bulb (which i like) takes a while to reach full strength, but even then it is just too dim. I like to see my tub in detail when i get in, so the brighter bulb would help a lot.

- I would love to see the second small mirror in the room. We, the two women getting ready in the morning, found ourselves competitive over the sink mirror!

- When we came to our lovely room, we discovered a piece of dry food stuck to the bed cover. No big deal, we figured we will leave a note for the cleaning lady so that it can be washed. However, the cover remained in our room for two days which makes me wander if it ever got washed for the next guest.

This is not a suggestion, but something to keep in mind - do pack on a lighter side when going to Amsterdam as if you want to stay at the canal house the stairs are steep and windy (no surprise). Because you will be carrying your own luggage upstairs it helps to have a backpack or a smaller case.

Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Iris room is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DC_traveler_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you like lively conversation with your gourmet breakfast and personal service in an historic building, then this is the place for you. Carlos is a hoot, knowledgeable and charming, and he makes a mean smoothie. The location is ideal, just a few blocks from the Anne Frank house and the Jordan neighborhood. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would return again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the canal; ours was on the inside and you will hear church bells 24 hours. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed there last weekend of May for 2 nights and we loved everything ! The location is ideal, in the most beautiful area, walking distance from museum, center, ...
We had the Narcissus room (top floor, so just expect narrow stairs) The room is very charming, calm, decorated with lot of taste. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Breakfast was very good and owner a very helpful, we highly recommend this place! Thanks you Carlos !

Room Tip: Not recommended for ordery people who can't climb stairs, although it is very typical in Amsterd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#20 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing