We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A perfect location - beautifull view and great hosts !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #22 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect location - beautifull view and great hosts !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Very good located rooms with beautifull canal views.
Hosts Carlos and Roelf-Jan were very friendly and provided all necessary info and great breakfasts to start off our days. This canal house is a 5 minute walk to Dam square in a very quiet neighborhood towards the Jordaan area.
We stayed in the Jasmine room which was recently renovated and was on the second level.
Highly recomended !!!

Room Tip: Tulip and Jasmine have the canal views ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_panag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My daughter and I spent a couple of nights here after a cruise, before we came home. I found it on the Internet and was really pleased to find that the place really lived up to the reviews. Its a lovely old house, very typically Dutch and beautifully restored. The hosts are very, very nice, kind and helpful and yes, the breakfasts are great. Our room was at the top of the house, very nicely furnished, and comfortable. We would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a really different place, much nicer than a modern hotel. We would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omajdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

What a wonderful B&B!

It was my family's (and my) first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and I gotta say my experience here has gotten me over any prejudice I used to have against B&B's!

The location couldn't get any better, as you are right at the corner of Herengracht and Leliegracht, which means you are just 2 canals and a 3 minute walk away from the center of town! Also extremely close by are the Anne Frank House, homomonument, and the Westerkerk.

Carlos was a gracious host, very friendly and welcoming. Our rooms were on the third floor, which was between the attic (another guest room) and the 2nd floor (the hosts' residence). The building itself is characteristically old, which is exactly what you'd want for a canal house, and the decorations were Asian-inspired and tasteful.

Even though it's for the same price (I believe), the room facing the canal is undoubtedly a better choice. Not just because of the view, but coz of the much roomier bathroom. Wireless internet is free and the signal was very strong. But be warned: there are no TV's. Which of coz wasn't a problem for us, but might be worth noting for some.

The breakfast was also wonderful, although we had a bit of a scare coz we visited during the e.coli outbreak. Of course none of us got sick but Carlos were the ones that told us about the news, otherwise we wouldn't even have known to be careful during the rest of our trip!

Parking is DEFINITELY a problem as expected, and Carlos can recommend a parking garage close by for 30 EUR a night. However I chose to park at the P&R for 8 EUR a night, which was just a short tram ride away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal has bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkpuipui99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in May and found Carlos and Roelf to be charming and helpful hosts. Carlos makes a great breakfast, fresh juices, meats, eggs etc. Carlos is very engaging and funny and we appreciated his suggestions for restaurants, markets, sightseeing etc. We were in the Narcissus room which is at the top of several flights of stairs, but as previously mentioned this is to be expected in canal homes. The room is cosy but comfortable. Unlike some other reviewers we couldn't hear other guests and we liked the church bells that chimed regularly. The B&B is very conveniently located with most attractions within easy walking distance. If you want to experience living in an authentic canal home this is the place to be. Also there are several great restaurants literally around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minigirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had such a pleasant stay here. Carlos was a warm and welcoming host. The breakfast was heaven!! Great location for Amsterdaam, on the canal and in easy walking distance to all the museums and Dam square, also easy walking from the train station. Like most of the B&B's in Amsterdam, the stairs are spiral and steep that go up to the rooms, I would not recommend for elderly travelers as there is no "ground" level room. We did not mind the stairs though and having only 2 small bags to carry, it was fine. Comfy bed and plenty of room for 2 people. Great, great value for Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you're not interested in staying in one of the funkiest, most charming, well-located and well-run B&Bs anywhere, then don't stay here. If you are, however, looking for a real taste of 1600's Amsterdam architecture without sacrificing all the modern amenities, a location that is close to all the action -- yet still in a quiet, laid-back neighborhood, overlooking a fabulous canal, and you're also interested in staying with B&B owners who care about their guests and are affable, entertaining, knowledgeable -- and put out a terrific breakfast -- then this is your place. Sunhead of 1617 delivers a good value, a great ambience and an excellent location. Owners Carlos and Roelf-Jan do it the way it should be done. I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in Amsterdam -- or anywhere else, for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whaleypatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Clean, ready on time, wonderful breakfast, wonderful hosts, amazing location! We had a great time in Amsterdam and staying here was a very good choice. My children said they wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when returning to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnAmericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#80 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing