We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunhead Bed and Breakfast and Apartments”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #39 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Southeast
1 review
“Sunhead Bed and Breakfast and Apartments”
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Quiet yet central, ideal for visiting places of interest in Amsterdam, this pretty house is situated overlooking a canal. The apartments are meticulously clean, fresh towels and bedlinen provided every day. Breakfasts are deliciousand the standard of service is very high, friendly and entertaining.

Helpful?
Thank chesterSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Set beside the canal and only a short walk into the center, it is an ideal spot for a stay in Amsterdam. Also just around the corner from the Anne Frank House - tip book you tickets online well in advance of your trip to avoid the queues.

We had all 3 rooms during our stay and all were up to our high standards. They were cleaned and tidied everyday and nothing was too much trouble.

One of the highlights was the breakfast - one of the best I have ever had whilst travelling. It is hearty and sets you up for a good walk around the city. Also they serve until 11.30am which means that even if you participate in the evening city activities you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to have you breakfast.

On departing Carlos ordered us a taxi at a good rate to the airport - well worth doing rather than taking the train.

A great place and would highly recommend it!!!

  • Liked — The rooms and the best ever breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — The stairs as I am 5 months pregnant but you can not get away from this in such a house
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHarris1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We just returned from a visit to Holland. We were fortunate enough to stay at Sunhead of 1617 on two different occasions during our visit. We stayed in both the Red Tulip Room and the Yellow Room. Both rooms were delightful, although the Red Tulip room had a wonderful view of the canal. The rooms were squeaky clean and comfortable. The sheets and towels were of excellent quality. Our rooms had fresh flowers every day and each room was equipped with an espresso machine. The rooms were decorated charmingly and the wonderful character of the architecture was preserved. Our host Carlos is the heart and soul of Sunhead. He is knowledgeable about the area and willing to assist. He is intelligent, funny and an excellent cook! The breakfasts each morning were presented in a pretty dining area adorned with Carlos' beautiful art work, set with lovely linens and tableware. Our breakfasts were delicious, hearty, well rounded and most importantly, the coffee - excellent. As with most of the buildings in Amsterdam, access to the rooms are via the traditional steep winding stairway. We adjusted quickly and very soon we did not give any thought to it. Our trip to Holland was memorable, made so much more interesting and enjoyable as a result of our wonderful experience at Sunhead.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmandidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We just returned from spending two glorious weeks in Amsterdam. We rented one of the Sunhead apartments for our stay and we were completely satisfied. It was comfortable, clean and well appointed. We arrived very early in the morning and due to a mix up in communications we never received notice not to show up until 11:00am (or at least at a reasonable hour). So at 6:00am we knocked on the door of the B&B. Although we abruptly woke Carlos, he graciously greeted us and invited us in. Even with the rude awakening, he made us feel immediately at home and very comfortable. The B&B is beautiful, comfortable and welcoming. We plan on staying with them for all of our future trips to Amsterdam. Thank you Carlos, Arno and Roelf!

  • Liked — well situated, love the neighborhood
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I absolutely love staying at the Sunhead of 1617. I have been staying there annually for the last six years and have always had an excellent experience. The location is fantastic; on a quiet canal street just a few blocks from Dam Square. The interior decor is beautiful, contemporary, and importantly, very comfortable. I wish I had decorating taste like the owners. Finally, the staff are extremely friendly and courteous. In sum, I highly recommend this place for a visit to amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank 3obj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We selected the Sunhead based on positive reviews I read here and could not have been happier. My family of 4 took both the Red and Yellow rooms on the top floor. This was an excellent setup giving us lots of room to spread out in and essentially our own private floor. We did tend to migrate to the Red room as it had wonderful views of one of the canals and we found it relaxing to watch the many different boats slide by. Both rooms had small refrigerators and espresso makers and the Red room also had a mircowave. This allowed us to shop at the nearby grocery store and save money on dinners. The breakfasts were always delicious as Carlos made different egg dishes, had fresh fruit, breads and cheese. We never left hungry. The location can't be beat as you are a very short walk to the main square but are still on a quite street. The only thing for some to consider is that to reach the top floor there is a fairly narrow winding staircase which you will have to navigate with your luggage. For some this might prove to be difficult but should not put off most people. If I return to Amsterdam I would be delighted to again stay at the Sunhead and would highly recommend it to others.

Helpful?
Thank RCHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Very nice, well located, friendly B&B. We stayed in the yellow narcissus room at the top which was clean and bright with comfortable beds. Top marks for breakfast - I think I ate a whole goat's cheese because I just couldn't put it down - and many thanks to Carlos for returning the clothes which I foolishly left behind. Recommended.

  • Liked — friendly attitude, breakfast, location.
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_e_lOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#165 of 368 in Amsterdam
280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,011 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#28 of 336 in Amsterdam
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 336 in Amsterdam
60 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 336 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 234 in Amsterdam
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing