We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd great visit ”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #36 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit in 2 years to Maes. Vlad greets us, shows us everything. We are very comfortable in our quiet room. Breakfast is abundant. Good coffee. Exc location close in. We buy dinner food/wine at the nearby AH & relax in the living room. Reserve early; they fill up.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 689 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Mae's . It was ideal, great location. We had the attic room with own small lounge area. Hosts were friendly. Breakfast was brilliant and it was very informal chatting with other guests from other parts of the world. Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank leeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ken and Vlad were on hand to greet us personally at Maes B&B, located a short distance off the Herengracht in Amsterdam, in the lovely Jordaan neighborhood. We enjoyed an apartment with a large, fully-equipped kitchen overlooking a peaceful back garden. The shower room was separate from the tiny toilet room, which can be helpful when two people are sharing the facilities. The free wifi connection was fast and reliable. Even though Amsterdam is a bustling metropolis, our sleeping quarters were quiet.
The included breakfast is served in an upstairs breakfast room reached by extremely narrow and steep stairs (common in many Amsterdam houses). The breakfast offered ham, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, pastry, breads and jams. The crew whipped up cappuccino on the spot, greatly appreciated. A note of caution: the breakfast hours at Maes B&B are limited to 9A-11A. I was in Amsterdam for a meeting of a large international group, and our activities often began before 9 AM, so I was not always able to eat breakfast at the B&B. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.
The Jordaan is a neighborhood where one can sit on the stoop in the evening with a beer in hand, and watch the bicyclists and walkers go by. It’s an enjoyable location in one of the world’s truly great cities.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request the ground-floor apartment.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 3Islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I visit Amsterdam regularly and we always try to stay at Maes B&B. It is a wonderful boutique B&B in canal district. The rooms are all very tasteful and the breakfast is outstanding. Great location and easy access to the train station and major sites. The owners and staff are very welcoming. A hidden jewel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needles_dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was my favorite accomodation during our 2 week vacation. When we arrived at Amsterdam Central Station we had only a short walk to Vlad and Kens where we were warmly greeted by Vlad who showed us to the house on the Singel Canal. Our room was downstairs-immaculately clean and very comfortable. The only downside to this particular room was the toilet was in a closet in the hall (my husband is a little claustrophobic) Vlad showed us the house and even downloaded an app on my phone that would help us locate popular attreactions in Amsterdam as well as some restaurant suggestions that turned out to be fantastic!
We enjoyed the company of the other guests in the home while we enjoyed the shared living room area that overlooks the canal and street, and during the breakfast served each morning by a young man that comes in each day at 8am. Vlad was there each day to check on his guests and see if we needed anything. Thank you Vlad for providing us with the perfect place to end a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowboundMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived late and were greeted by our host Vlad. He made us feel at home and showed us around the B & B. It's especially nice to have access to the kitchen and gathering room. We made use of both several times during our three night stay. Our room looked into the back area which was filled with trees and greenery. It was very quiet and tranquil. Our room also had the large attic shower and tub with sink area. The stairs to the top were especially steep, and you needed to be very cautious. It was like being in a treehouse. Being in an old canal house, meant that the stairs were steep and narrow. We were very careful when we went up and down. It is a place that we will always remember fondly. We would recommend this place to others because it gives you an opportunity to be a part of the

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jihuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

After walking out of another hotel and desperate to find somewhere for the night I remembered hearing good things about Mae's and a call to Ken and Vlad saved our first trip to Amsterdam. They found myself (and daughter) accommodation in one of the apartments for the first night and although it was latish when we arrived Vlad met us and ensured we had everything we needed. The apartment was superb, spacious and immaculate with a small patio and canal view. The second night we stayed in the B&B house which was also a delight to stay in. The location of both was perfect and Vlad gave us excellent tips and advice and a lovely breakfast. We look forward to returning - for a longer stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank B_Y_Sampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 338 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#24 of 338 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#34 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Breitner House
#12 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $112 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing