We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you've stayed here - you will be back”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #34 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Once you've stayed here - you will be back”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The B&B is located in several locations. We were right on Singel canal so it was always easy to find your way back (although you can't see the canal from the room we were in). The B&B is just lovely. We had a room with two twin beds and private bathroom. The room was comfortable, bathroom spacious and it was very clean. The host was very friendly. The breakfasts were ok - sometimes by the time we got down, several items were already gone (my son just loved the croissants so was disappointed that they were gone by the time we ate.) The location is great - you are close to many of the major attractions and it is only a short walk from the center of town and bus. We did not get to meet the owners (they were out of town) so that was a bit disappointing since we heard they were great about giving tips on where to go. I was traveling with my son (22) - he loved location too and wondered why anyone would stay in a hotel when they could stay at a B&B (his first time at one). Note that the host was only there for a short time in the morning so do not expect to be entertained by the host. You do get their number to call if you should have any issues. This B&B was recommended by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone I know who needed a place "like home" to stay. While there was no great view from our room - we overlooked a small courtyard and it was quiet. I know that on my next trip to this wonderful city - I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    80
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
111
323
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
289 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location-easy walk to Centraal Station, Anne Frank House and tramline, with a variety of nearby restaurants. Breakfast was great (who doesn't love freshly baked croissants), owners and staff friendly and engaging. Need screens on the guest room windows so as to not provide an all night buffet to the voracious mosquitos. Rugs could use a deep cleaning. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend this place, I would never go back. The room wasnt clean at all, furniture is old and crumpy and owners are unfriendly, rude and not customer and service oriented at all. The owners are more absent than present and if you really need something that is your own problem. But you are lucky if you dont cross them too often, if you complain about anything you just get insulted. The price is just not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moontat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir M, Owner at Maes B & B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We would like to respond to this review. We are truly surprised by the comments made in this review. Although reading the other review this person wrote we also truly believe as the other establishment, that this reviewer has not stayed with us and this review was meant for another B&B.

As TripAdvisor actually will never follow up with a report from businesses that it could be a fake review as they are truly a one sided anonymous search engine that hide entirely with no remorse, behind all the small letters on their site. We felt the need to respond to this our only recourse for such a review, to make certain our potential guests understand that we fully believe this is not us.

We are always around for our guests if they need us but to be fair we are not 24/7 available. We are actually a B&B not a hotel. Although since we live on the premises it is fair to say you can find us if needed at any time. If one of the guests are in our annex building they have the use of a telephone to contact us at all times. For rooms not being clean we find this also not very constructive in an anonymous review with no dates that correspond or a description of something to prove they were with us at all. We try desperately to be up top hotel standards as much as is possible. But cleanliness is high on our agenda at all times. although a room may not be cleaned everyday it is checked for any rubbish, dirty towels new amenities etc...by our staff.
As for being rude and insulting we find this very hard to believe as we both have been doing this for over 20yrs and hospitality is our business. Guest can always can come to us for information at any time for advice or other information. We also feel that they can give us constructive criticism at any time as we relish on feedback to improve our services. There is no insults or rudeness involved with that situation.
We hope that TripAdvisor will get back to us with a positive view on this review being not for us but if not ( most likely not) but then we are able to express ourselves too.

The owners of Maes B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in mid August and had a great time. We followed Vlad's instructions on getting to the address and when we drove up Milo was waiting for us to get us settled in. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfasts were well done, and the baked goods were excellent. Vlad recommended some places to eat in the neighborhood, and they were hits as well. Our hosts made our stay in Amsterdam that much easier to enjoy. The neighborhood was quiet, but within easy reach of all the sites on our list. Rick Steves recommended this B&B and his recommendation was spot-on. The stair to the room on the third floor were very steep, but hey...we're in Europe call it character. If we were to ever return we would try to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanausdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Maes B&B with our two teenage children and loved it. We were in the house on Singel, which faces the canal, and it was beautiful. There is a nice living area with huge windows facing the canal. We had two connecting basement rooms which were large and quiet. (I did wish we'd had a view of the canal, though.) The place is spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is great: pastries, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt, and baby Dutch pancakes! The location is perfect, walking distance to practically everything and so pretty with all of the canals and canal houses and houseboats. Vlad was a great host. This was the perfect place for us to stay in while we explored beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Ken, Vlad and the team are really nice! The place is cozy, and the breakfast is so good. In addition, they are willing to help you with problems you may have in Amstetdam. For example, I needed to return my OV-card, and they said that I could use the phone and stamps for free, and Vlad even helped me to send it! We stayed in the attic room. Though someone should sleep on the sofa bed, it's still very comfortable. Highly recommens this B&B to everyone who wants to have a nice stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Gwynnethwu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went to a professional conference in Amsterdam for five days in July. Maes B&B was a wonderful place to stay. The Attic (pictured) suite was immaculate and very comfortable (once one gets used to navigating the steep, narrow staircases typical in places in Amsterdam). The breakfast buffet was superb. For the location, accommodations, staff and amenities, this is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAdventuress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#27 of 331 in Amsterdam
288 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 331 in Amsterdam
937 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 331 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#32 of 331 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 331 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#84 of 331 in Amsterdam
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing