We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bill Van, Phoenix, AZ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #31 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bill Van, Phoenix, AZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in mid August and had a great time. We followed Vlad's instructions on getting to the address and when we drove up Milo was waiting for us to get us settled in. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfasts were well done, and the baked goods were excellent. Vlad recommended some places to eat in the neighborhood, and they were hits as well. Our hosts made our stay in Amsterdam that much easier to enjoy. The neighborhood was quiet, but within easy reach of all the sites on our list. Rick Steves recommended this B&B and his recommendation was spot-on. The stair to the room on the third floor were very steep, but hey...we're in Europe call it character. If we were to ever return we would try to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanausdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    79
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
111
315
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Maes B&B with our two teenage children and loved it. We were in the house on Singel, which faces the canal, and it was beautiful. There is a nice living area with huge windows facing the canal. We had two connecting basement rooms which were large and quiet. (I did wish we'd had a view of the canal, though.) The place is spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is great: pastries, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt, and baby Dutch pancakes! The location is perfect, walking distance to practically everything and so pretty with all of the canals and canal houses and houseboats. Vlad was a great host. This was the perfect place for us to stay in while we explored beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Ken, Vlad and the team are really nice! The place is cozy, and the breakfast is so good. In addition, they are willing to help you with problems you may have in Amstetdam. For example, I needed to return my OV-card, and they said that I could use the phone and stamps for free, and Vlad even helped me to send it! We stayed in the attic room. Though someone should sleep on the sofa bed, it's still very comfortable. Highly recommens this B&B to everyone who wants to have a nice stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Gwynnethwu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went to a professional conference in Amsterdam for five days in July. Maes B&B was a wonderful place to stay. The Attic (pictured) suite was immaculate and very comfortable (once one gets used to navigating the steep, narrow staircases typical in places in Amsterdam). The breakfast buffet was superb. For the location, accommodations, staff and amenities, this is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAdventuress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Maes B&B for 4 nights. Accommodations were excellent. We stayed in the Herestrat location and the premises were immaculate. Host Vlad was very patient and courteous with us as we had many questions about Amsterdam and what his recommendations were. The location of the B&B is right in the centre of Amsterdam (along the Singel canal and very picturesque) in easy walking distance to the train station and many tourist attractions.
Breakfast was excellent with a variety of foods to accommodate most people. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Amsterdam. If back, we will most assuredly stay here. Thanks Vlad and Ken for being excellent hosts. Very much appreicated.
John B, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C1936YYJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I sent my parents to stay here for a week and they were very happy with the B&B:
- very central
- easy to find
- excellent breakfast
- Very nice lounge with views of the canal
Only criticism is that the room is not service for the duration of the 5 day stay.

We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeLondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had an outstanding experience staying at Maes B & B. We arrived quite late in the evening and Vlad met us and spent quite a bit of time orienting us to the place and it's many great features. We were right on Singel canal, the location was fantastic and easy to walk to many of the sights we were interested in. Clean, comfortable, modern rooms. Expansive living room, access to kitchen if you so desire. NON-SMOKING; this was an important feature to us, and there was no trace of cigarette smoke anywhere in the building. Excellent breakfast buffet. Vlad was extremely accomodating and full of great local knowledge. In our opinion, there is no reason to stay in an overpriced Amsterdam hotel when you can stay at Maes and have access to all the amenities such a hotel might have in the nearby neighborhood. We've begun to plan our next Amsterdam trip with Maes as the nucleus.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep cold, ask for a lower level room and have Vlad show you how to use the opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonRRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#32 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#26 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing