We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Amsterdam”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #35 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 4 nights and we had a wonderful experience (including celebrating my wife's birthday). The hosts were welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. It was a walking distance from the Central train station. We've got a good tips for the restaurants, local events and things to do. We enjoyed our stay a lot, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borispot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for Maes B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 687 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my mom during Queen/King's week for 2 nights and we had a wonderful experience. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The location was in the Jordaan District, right by the Negen Straatjes and within walking and tram distance of everything. Easy, short taxi ride from the Central train station. The room was clean, bright, and unique. We slept wonderfully. The bathroom was up a set of stairs in the upper floor, which was very interesting and different. We enjoyed our stay a lot, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindhi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked an apartment with Maes and Herren. We were given the very spacious "penthouse" apartment, Singel 3, which is on two levels with the living area downstairs and the bedroom and bathroom above in the loft. The comfort of the furnishings and the quality of the fittings could not have been better (washing machine, induction cook top, dish washer, stainless steel fridge/freezer). Vlad, the owner, was very helpful in making our arrival after a long flight as stress free as possible.
The view of the canal was lovely and the position is excellent, an easy walk to the station. This was important for us as we stayed 12 nights and used the apartment as a base for day trips as well as sightseeing in Amsterdam itself. The apartment is not cheap, but is great value for money. This was the best apartment of our entire six week trip. The only warning is that there are a lot of stairs to climb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipi_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Maes B&B is incredible. This was my second stay, and I'll be back again. The location near the Jordaan can't be beat. This is the only place to stay during King's Day next year. It's right in the middle of the action, and it's an easy walk to the train station and all tourist attractions. The rooms are updated and clean, and the beds are comfy. Maes provides a great breakfast, including fresh baked croissants, meat, cheeses, toast, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, yogurt, and breads. Ken and Vlad are friendly, excellent hosts. They provided tourist information and recommendations. We even met Ken's parents during our visit.

Room Tip: We loved the attic suite, which was perfectly suited for 3 people, but it is up three steep flights...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this very nice B&B in the heart of Amsterdam. For us, a family of four with two teenagers, this was a much better choice than a typical hotel. There were two large kitchens available to all guests for independent cooking. The breakfast served was nice, and we would like to recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to spend a few days in the very heart of Amsterdam at a decent price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steinar190502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed in this great B&B in a basement room with twin beds. So many things were excellent about this B&B. Firstly, the location is perfect, situated within walking distance of Central station in the lovely Jordaan district, close to the major attractions. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean, with comfy beds. The bathroom was big, sleek and had the biggest shower head I've ever seen in my life! Breakfast was great, with croissants baked in the B&B kitchen, a large bowl of fruit salad (much appreciated!), yoghurt, granola, bread, cheese, eggs, cake, coffee and tea. When we arrived at 10am after a 24 hour flight from Australia, our lovely host let us into our room straight away and offered us breakfast! What a wonderful welcome when we were so exhausted. There is a very well-equipt kitchen with fridge which you can use- we cooked up a meal of fried salmon one evening. The only very mild complaint is that there was a number of locked doors to open to get to our room (ie the front door, then a door separating the hall and lounge, then our room door), and some of the locks seemed to be a bit broken, so were difficult to open. Apart from this, we had a brilliant stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephtheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You are made to feel right at home..........safe, clean, superb in every way! Typical Dutch narrow stairways, so travel light! Within walking distance to transport lines, Centraal Station, Farmers Market, Anne Frank House, etc., etc., etc. Would stay there again if ever we are back in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Rooms looking into the neighboring courtyard offer beautiful views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteGinger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 337 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#72 of 337 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#27 of 337 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 337 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 337 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $113 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing