We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
46
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtgood sizecentral stationbars and restaurantscanalmirrortelevisionkey
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Clean and spacious, hot shower and minutes from the Central Station. Enjoyed having a tea selection and boiling pot in my room. Thanks David for having me and my family stay during our time in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeGuyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Owner at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

This was our second stay with David at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast and the second stay was just as good as the first. We already knew the location was prefect for us as it is very close to Central Station and all the places we knew we wanted to visit. We arrived early on our arrival date and David was able to allow us to get into the room early. He had told us if the room wasn't ready he would take our luggage early. Also, we needed a late check out and unfortunately he had new guest checking in that same day, however he allowed us to leave our luggage in the hall and gave us a key so we could pick up our luggage when we were ready to leave for the day. The place is on a very busy street, however once the windows were closed at night you would never know the street was a busy as it is. Very quiet and very close to many good restaurants. Anytime we are in Amsterdam, we will try to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayG1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Owner at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

The location is amazing, literally 5 mins or less walk from Central Station and right on the canal front.

We rented both rooms as we were a group of 4, myself and my partner were in the canal view room which was lovely.
Yes, a little loud at night time but this is what you expect from being so near to the red light district with various bars and restaurants with outside seating.

The bed was very large, though as it seems to be 2 halves pushed together, it does create a dip in the middle and sometimes you do tend to roll in towards this.
But overall it is very comfortable!

The en-suite bathrooms are a very good size, plenty of space and although the shower is a wet room style, it does not flood the entire bathroom like lots of others do! You simply sweep the water away and it dries almost instantly!

The Tv in the canal front room is small in comparison to the second room, it could do with an upgrade and perhaps freeview tv/Netflix or other television apps installed as you only seem to pick up a couple of channels. (This didn't bother us but it is a suggestion for an improvement).

Overall the cleaning was of a very high level although at some stage a very dusty sock left behind from a previous guest seemed to surface from underneath the bed.
There are also a few marks to the wall, especially underneath the mirror which are quite noticeable.

The decoration and overall interior of both rooms is great, very fashionable and comfortable.

I met David once and he was a lovely guy, super friendly and helpful by letting us leave our bags outside in the hall as we had a later flight on the day we left.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back room (no canal view) is MUCH quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jkes20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Owner at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here and couldn't fault it. At five minutes walk from Central station, the location is perfect, with restaurants, shops and the red light district also within a few minutes walk. We had the front room with canal view and it was great; really spacious and well decorated with a lovely comfortable king size bed. We opted to have breakfast upstairs in the owners kitchen and what a delight that was. David and his partner are lovely hosts and happily chatted to us about their home and family, which gave it such a personal touch. There was a great choice of food including cereals, yogurts, bread, toast and meats and cheese. We couldn't have wished for anything nicer. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Owner at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Thanks for lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

A very good place to stay in the centre of town. It is strictly not a B&B because they do not serve breakfast (we knew this in advance, so no problem), but all the facilities are there to have breakfast in the room. This place very well located in the centre right by the red-light district, you can reach from this place all the main attractions in Amsterdam by foot.
In the evening it is very busy on the streets, but as we had a room at the back of the house we did not have any noise from the street at all (we don't know how it is in the room at the front). We did have some noise problems though (kid on the floor above us was running and screaming from seven each day).
The rooms is nice, big and clean.
The internet, wifi, works well, .... but the television has only a few channels that work, the rest have a very bad reception, this could be better, but then we did not come to Amsterdam to watch television!!!
Overall a very good place to stay, almost 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: ask for the room at the back
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Owner at Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews