We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #110 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location, easy walk from central station with a myriad of restaurant choices on your doorstep. Delicious and generous breakfast basket, spacious, warm room with ensuite bathroom. I was a little concerned about the location with a child in tow. However, turn right outside the door and you head straight into the red light district, turn left and you'll never know it's there!

Room Tip: The front room has the canal view but the back room is equally lovely and slightly larger. David add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaaustralia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

David is a perfect host. Beautiful room and so clean like been home from home, better than any B&B i have stopped in before. Fantastic location right on the canal with great views,the breakfast box was superb and started us up for our days of sightseeing. Would definitely recommend Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast ........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Velvet Amsterdam B&B, together with a couple of friends.
Our first sensations was.."Home Sweet Home". Both rooms were confortable,clean, and equipped with everything (Kattle, hair dryer, Cd, Tv and coffee/the facilities) better than most of the business hotel.
We apprecciated the breakfast basket left in front of the door at the time you requested.
David the host is friendly, helpfull and the house is the mirror of him!! THANK YOU becouse our stay was really perfect!
Last but not least the location. This corner of the town is like a postcard! The Central Station is nearby, you have the chance of finding all you need just a step away.
Wonderful relaxing stay:

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay at Velvet Amsterdam B&B. The location was excellent for its closeness to the train station and central Amsterdam. Moreover, having dozens of restaurants literally within a stone's throw was a definite plus. The room was of a good size, neat and very clean with a splendid view of the canal. Breakfast, which was left outside our room at the requested time was plentiful.Thank you David for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartolo_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Unluckily I could spent just two nights in Velvet B&B but it has been awesome. The room was so clean and I really enjoyed my staying in total comfort. It is located less than 10 min from the central station on one of the nicest canals in Amsterdam in my opinion. In the room I finded everything I needed and even more. The personnel is nice and they leave the breakfast outside the door in a basket at the time you asked, I really appreciated that! Excellent in every aspect!

Room Tip: I've been in the internal room, it has not the view of the other one, but it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucamastrilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel a lot in my work and always stay at business hotels, thus I was looking forward to my stay at Velvet Amsterdam. And I was not disappointed! The host David was more than helpful with answering my questions despite me arriving late in the evening. The room was clean and neat and had everything what I needed. At night I was concerned I might not be able to sleep since the room was on the first floor, but to my surprise I hardly noticed the people passing by. A true gem at a perfect location! I will surely stay at this Bed and Breakfast when I visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caastran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A good B&B is definately the best way to stay in Amsterdam as accomodation is very expensive.

Velvet Amsterdam did not disappoint. Parking is impossible in central Amsterdam and impossibly expensive. If you're driving, the best option is to park the car at the Park & Ride at Zeeburg (if coming from the east) and catch the tram in. The 8 Euros a day cost includes the tram ride in and back out for two people. The instructions we were given to get to the Velvet from the central station were easy to follow and we were there in no time. Just as well, as it was raining heavily when we arrived.

Our host was very accomodating and a basic but pleasant breakfast was provided each morning. The location was excellent and our room had a great view over one of the canals and we could watch the atmosphere of people going about their business below. Despite the heavy foot traffic, the room was quiet and no doubt well insulated. We stayed four nights and slept well every night.

Even though the red light district was only about two blocks away, there was nothing seedy about the location. Many excellent restaurants were only a few minutes walk in the opposite direction. The all you can eat ribs at one of the mexican restaurants was to die for (and very cheap).

I definately recommend the Velvet. While in Amsterdam, a guided night tour through the red light district is a must. It's very entertaining and you see things you would never see wandering around on your own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#177 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,028 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 367 in Amsterdam
435 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#283 of 367 in Amsterdam
125 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Property: Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 10 | Centre, 1012 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation has a private entrance and is on the first floor (without lift) recently renovated canal house, which dates from 1930. I have two room one with canal view and other is on at the back of the house. The room has a private shower and toilet, directly accessable from the room; TV, DVD player, free WI-FI, a double bed, fridge, coffee and tea facilities. Breakfast is served in the room. Weekly and monthly rate available. In this rate breakfast is not included. The B&B is located in the old town centre of Amsterdam, only a 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Most attractions are at walking distance. Museum Square (Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum) can be reached within 10 minutes by tram number 2 or 5. From Central Station you can take local trams and buses and national and international train services. The owner speaks English, Dutch and some French.If you have any questions, just ask. Hope to welcome you soon in our B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing