We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless !!”
Review of TownHouse-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TownHouse-Inn
Ranked #91 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Townhouse Inn on 20th & 21st September 2013. What a place, there is nothing bad we can say about this place, it truly is faultless. Rooms are modern and spotless. They have all the mod cons (kettle / TV / fridge). The bed was so comfortable we slept very well. As for the host, Christian !! Exceptional host, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and his breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. The location is as everyone describes - near to everything. Perfect is so so many ways, you would be a fool not to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front which was large with great view over the canal. Still lovely and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainsenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Townhouse-Inn for three nights. Christian our host was extremely helpful and friendly and made a lovely continental breakfast each morning. The room was modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. It also had a large flatscreen tv, a fridge and free WiFi. The location of the b&b is fantastic, a short walk from the central station and the harbour. There are a number of great bars and restaurants immediately opposite the b&b which serve food for a variety of tastes and budgets. We hired bikes on our first day there and really enjoyed seeing the city in this way. The only challenge we faced as light sleepers was the noise from the road outside but this could be overcome by opting for a room facing away from the canal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC4RMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Location is in an excellent position, near to everything, as central station, tram and buses, canal tours, Dam, restaurants. Rooms are very confortable, everything is new, cool furnitures...Christian is a very nice and very cooperative person. It will be my first choice in future trip to Amsterdam. Stairs are the very typical dutch ones.

Room Tip: No real issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Maria M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Townhouse-Inn for two nights at the end of June 2013. Fantastic hotel, modern and clean.It overlooks a canal with a few local bars. Access to the city centre was easy by bus or a 15 min stroll. Christian the owner was fabulous host, very welcoming and very helpful, giving us ideas of places to visit and how to get there. He makes a fab breakfast for you each morning. You get to meet and chat with travellers from other countries over breakfast too. It is like staying with friends rather than the' Big' chain hotels.. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to overlook the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the TownHouse-Inn for three night in mid June 2013. We found it fairly easily after a brief walk from Amsterdam Central station and used the entry codes provided to us to get into the hotel and our room- no need for keys. The hotel is in a gloriously tall Amsterdam townhouse on a canal, and just across from a cool row of bars and cafes- perfectly situated for a late night drink. The location was brilliant, an easy walk into the centre of Amsterdam, but out of the hustle and bustle- perfect for us.

The room was lovingly put together with a massive, uber-comfortable bed, a little balcony and a well equipped bathroom. Chrisitian was a great host and provided a marvelous breakfast every morning and some really good travel tips about Amsterdam. One of the great things about this Inn is the shared breakfasts which give you an opportunity to talk with fellow travelers and swap hints and tips for the days to come.

Overall, strongly recommended. The Inn is put together with care and attention and guests are made to feel very welcome- more like they are staying at a friends than in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect.I strongly recommend. Nice rooms,cosy bad, modern bathroom, good location.very close to Amsterdam principal attractions with great restaurants across the channel. and of course, to Christian our host all my respect.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in this modern B&B, having come to Amsterdam for a concert at the Muziekgebouw aan't Ij. The place that is totally refurbished is not easy to find as there are no signs outside. Doors work by number codes so you need no keys. There are six rooms in a modern style, clean and comfortable. The owner, an Austrian guy called Christian, is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast that he prepares himself to the wishes of his clients is wonderful. The location and the comfort have their price - also taking into account that accomodation in Amsterdam is generally expensive: we payed 165€ for one night. But we definitely enjoyed the stay much more than in a big hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biljana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Keizers Canal
B&B Keizers Canal
#78 of 338 in Amsterdam
30 reviews
Hostelle
#37 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,962 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse-Inn

Address: Schippersgracht 12A, 1011 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $173 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TownHouse-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing