We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect!!”
Review of TownHouse-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TownHouse-Inn
Ranked #82 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect.I strongly recommend. Nice rooms,cosy bad, modern bathroom, good location.very close to Amsterdam principal attractions with great restaurants across the channel. and of course, to Christian our host all my respect.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in this modern B&B, having come to Amsterdam for a concert at the Muziekgebouw aan't Ij. The place that is totally refurbished is not easy to find as there are no signs outside. Doors work by number codes so you need no keys. There are six rooms in a modern style, clean and comfortable. The owner, an Austrian guy called Christian, is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast that he prepares himself to the wishes of his clients is wonderful. The location and the comfort have their price - also taking into account that accomodation in Amsterdam is generally expensive: we payed 165€ for one night. But we definitely enjoyed the stay much more than in a big hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biljana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The owner, Christian is a very nice person and you can feel, that the guest have a high prioritiy. Let's see some details:
+breakfast ist delicious (ask for scrumbled eggs)
+view from room is nice
+bed is very comfortable

We definietly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Streetview, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marci737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay in a great location. It is stylish, practical, spotlessly clean and welcoming yet unobtrusive.
Christian greeted us with a drink and gave us a map and told us all the best places to visit. The townhouse is so stylish- you wish your own home was like it!
The rooms are a good size with a small but perfectly formed en suite and a clever cupboard with hanging space, shelving, full length mirror, tea and coffee making and even a fridge.
It is about 15 min leisurely walk to Dam Square but there are several restaurants within a minutes walk- we tried 2 and they were excellent. While central it is based in a residential area and is very quiet at night- even with the window open.
Totally recommend it- if you're lucky enough to get a reservation- you need to book well in advance!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I must admit that I was slightly reluctant when my wife suggested this place for a prolonged weekend trip in April. I’ve learned that one should be a tad sceptical towards excessive acclamations in a forum like this. However after spending a few days att the Towerhouse Inn, I have no doubts about joining the choir of praise. This is a very comfy, easygoing and attractive place of which I have no difficulties to recommend to anyone who is not tied to a wheel chair (we are talking serious steps here). A great deal of the cheering superlatives are of course due to the manager Christian’s, most obliging ways and very pleasant person, generating a cordial and enjoyable stay. I am most grateful to Christian and – to my wife.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

my girlfriend and i decided to get away from London for a couple of nights. we've never been to Amsterdam so was an easy choice. i came across townhouse-inn reviews and booked a room. i'm totally glad i did. Christian was superb at meeting our every need and his breakfasts were on point. he was even kind enough to check us in earlier than usual. he's quite knowledgeable too so we were able to visit some great sites at his recommendation (especially the best apple pie in Amsterdam which was beyond delicious). this B&B is modern, clean, and comfortable. the spiral staircases were a bonus; although steep they are a nice touch in design. lastly, the rooftop terrace is great in the evenings for a little relaxation. if you're looking for a nice B&B that's close to the city center, is next to a cool neighborhood, has a healthy tasty breakfast and exudes modern comfort, look no further and book a room now.

Room Tip: note, the hotel is just outside of the major tourist area. nearest coffeeshop is a couple blocks ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Super-clean, modern and charming inn located in a wonderful neighborhood just 15 mins from the city center. Plenty of local restaurants nearby(remember to bring cash though as most don't accept credit cards) as well as the zoo & Dutch Resistance Museum just steps away. Christian the host couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - I walked his suggested itinerary and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I'll be traveling several times to Amsterdam this year and have definitely found my new home away from home.:-)

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor facing the street - wonderful view, no noise - very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldlygirl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#107 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,827 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#5 of 372 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse-Inn

Address: Schippersgracht 12A, 1011 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $174 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TownHouse-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing