We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
Review of Oriental 128 - CLOSED

Oriental 128
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant CHI Quality of Happiness Good quality food at affordable prices, we offer honest and uncomplicated dishes. The warm interior makes you feel right at home. The enthousiastic staff will do anything they can to deliver an unforgettable evening. We hope to see you soon!!
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here on 20th October. From the time you enter the restaurant you are transported into a different world. Your coats are taken at the door and put in a sliding cupboard. Once seated you are not given the menu but served with a pureed chilli drink and pasta parcel filled with finely chopped mushrooms and chillis.

We then ordered our starter king prawn and fillet of beef, The beef was so tender and tasty. The main course we had corn fed chicken, duck and spicy prawns with fried rice. The food is so tender and tasty. Like no other Chinese you have had.

The staff were friendly and attentive. And the most impressive thing is that the same level of care and quality has been bestowed upon the toilets as the restaurant itself. Which is a mark of truly perfect hosts.

We really cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A blend of Asian cuisines”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recommended to book a table (through www.iens.nl done in 3 clicks).
Welcoming and attentive staff - fine table setting (tablecloth, decoration), we were sitting in the "window" or you can choose a more intimate ambiance inside the restaurant.
We chose the 4-course menu, bit more expensive (€45), but value for money. It is fine dining, (so do not expect copious portions), well balanced choices of products and mix of tastes (nothing to compare with the "traditional-european" chinese-japanese restaurants).
Let yourself be recommended a wine (even the one not on the card). English-spoken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent refined Cuisine overlooked by many”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since we run a B&B (Prince Henry Private Suites) we are always on the lookout for good restaurant to recommend, especially when it is rather close by. This one is a 100 meter form where the Vondelpark begins. Owing to its reputation for cheapness and modelling to Dutch taste the reputation of Chines restaurants has suffered many dents. However, this also implies that this restaurant offers exquisite dishes at affordable prices. The manager is also a sommelier and the Chardonnay house white is delicious. However, if you have something to celebrate you should not limit,it yourself to that. This is the best Chinese food we have had in years and my wife is a professional chef herself. very warmly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKlinkhamer_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
714 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Fine Asian dining”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you link Asian food to fastfood and not with fine dining, you should pay a visit to Oriental 128. We had been there a few times before (and were pleasantly suprised then), but there is a new manager now who adds to the experience.

Excellent dishes, appropriately sized, decent prices and friendly staff. The manager is also sommelier, and with a passion. The wine selection is admirable and surprising.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
726 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A rare bird indeed.... real high end Chinese served with white linen, fine crystal ...matching wines”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not knowing exactly WHAT to expect, but recommended by a trusted vinophile.. we went along and were WOW ed......this is the real deal...high end exquisite Chinese served with French flair; white linen, careful service, matching wines as selected by sommelier...it all worked. not inexpensive, but worth every penny when one wants something special for that occasion when slap dash dining will not do. we enjoyed five course all faultless. {Portions are not large but adequate when totalled, as were generous pours of the chosen vinos} recommended, but bring your GOLD card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental 128 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing