We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A blend of Asian cuisines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental 128 - CLOSED

Oriental 128
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant CHI Quality of Happiness Good quality food at affordable prices, we offer honest and uncomplicated dishes. The warm interior makes you feel right at home. The enthousiastic staff will do anything they can to deliver an unforgettable evening. We hope to see you soon!!
Global
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A blend of Asian cuisines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recommended to book a table (through www.iens.nl done in 3 clicks).
Welcoming and attentive staff - fine table setting (tablecloth, decoration), we were sitting in the "window" or you can choose a more intimate ambiance inside the restaurant.
We chose the 4-course menu, bit more expensive (€45), but value for money. It is fine dining, (so do not expect copious portions), well balanced choices of products and mix of tastes (nothing to compare with the "traditional-european" chinese-japanese restaurants).
Let yourself be recommended a wine (even the one not on the card). English-spoken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent refined Cuisine overlooked by many”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since we run a B&B (Prince Henry Private Suites) we are always on the lookout for good restaurant to recommend, especially when it is rather close by. This one is a 100 meter form where the Vondelpark begins. Owing to its reputation for cheapness and modelling to Dutch taste the reputation of Chines restaurants has suffered many dents. However, this also implies that this restaurant offers exquisite dishes at affordable prices. The manager is also a sommelier and the Chardonnay house white is delicious. However, if you have something to celebrate you should not limit,it yourself to that. This is the best Chinese food we have had in years and my wife is a professional chef herself. very warmly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JKlinkhamer_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
689 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Fine Asian dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you link Asian food to fastfood and not with fine dining, you should pay a visit to Oriental 128. We had been there a few times before (and were pleasantly suprised then), but there is a new manager now who adds to the experience.

Excellent dishes, appropriately sized, decent prices and friendly staff. The manager is also sommelier, and with a passion. The wine selection is admirable and surprising.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
647 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“A rare bird indeed.... real high end Chinese served with white linen, fine crystal ...matching wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not knowing exactly WHAT to expect, but recommended by a trusted vinophile.. we went along and were WOW ed......this is the real deal...high end exquisite Chinese served with French flair; white linen, careful service, matching wines as selected by sommelier...it all worked. not inexpensive, but worth every penny when one wants something special for that occasion when slap dash dining will not do. we enjoyed five course all faultless. {Portions are not large but adequate when totalled, as were generous pours of the chosen vinos} recommended, but bring your GOLD card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly brilliant, if not overly serious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The concept of a restaurant so intensely focused Chinese cuisine is unusual, surprising, and at moments confusing. Oriental 128 however does in fact work even if it translates as a bit stretched.

This is a white linen, sommelier experience and the food is quite simply spectacular. Delicate, balanced, and wonderfully flavorful. Subtle when needs to be and likely the most mature interpretation of Chinese food I have ever had the pleasure to consume.

So, why only a "Very Good" rating. I really can't move beyond the confusion of the experience. It felt very French in delivery, but the food was definitely Chinese. It it had translated as a fusion of the two forms perhaps it would have scored higher, or lower. It was more akin to an overlay of French service, without the crusty bread.

Regardless, go. It is most certainly a pleasure and delight not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clntng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental 128 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing