We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #209 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

There are several of this places in Amsterdam. I do recommend them voor brunch or lunch. Especially the scones are delicious. They are usually packed with people, so dont mind waiting à few minutes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willeke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    130
    28
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“homemade breads and jams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just walking into to this place will spark the taste buds. The smell of fresh baked goods overwelms. Tasty bread and jams great for a brunch or breakfast. It does gett busy but the line when we went was not to long and well worth the wait.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank w-wondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly place with delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We actually ate here twice while in Amsterdam for five days. The first time was for a quick coffee and scone -- a cranberry one, very yummy with 3 kinds of jam and whipped cream -- and the second time was for lunch. Both times we were greeted warmly by a waiter and then saluted by the chefs as we passed them on our way to our table. The sandwiches, salad, scones and cake were all fresh and very flavourful. We also really enjoyed the latte and chai macchiatos. The atmosphere is relaxed and happy and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yummy breakfast for two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

heard about this from our hotel and some other folks, went and ordered their big breakfast and shared it, so delicious! i took some for home, including the little jars of funky jam (tomatoes, eggplant, chillies). absolutely love it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went here for breakfast one morning, highly anticipating a great meal because of the other reviews. However, we were pretty disappointed. There wasn't much in the way of pastries except scones and croissants. We ordered the Dutch apple cake but then was told after 20 minutes that it would take another 30 minutes to bake, so we cancelled it. Some in my group ordered eggs on toast and, while the bread was good, the entire meal was just ordinary. We left unsatisfied and sorry we had come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mireille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing