We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Scones and Homemade Preserves”

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #136 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Yummy Scones and Homemade Preserves”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very close to central on Zeedijk 37, 1012 AR Amsterdam, Netherlands, this quaint little bakery/cafe will warm you up!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    148
    31
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, Delicious & Savory Food.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem of a spot on a Sunday while we were staying in Central Amsterdam. The concierge had recommended a place called "open", which was not only closed, but looked cold and touristy. This was a hop and a skip away from our hotel (Barbizon NH). Immediately I noticed that is looked very local and it was packed. The host was friendly and gave us the last little table available. I ADORE the way it was put together with a warm, chic, and slightly organic feel. Our food was fabulous. I had the sandwich of the day and my companion had the warm food special of the day. My sandwich was served on a nice, dense multigrain bread and filled with delicious tuna, with capers, herbs, lettuce & tomato. My companion had a savory crusted potato, red pepper, spinach and gruyere dish served with a lovely simple salad. I highly recommend this little gem amidst many touristy joints (literally; ) in this very old district in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaoLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grew a beard whilst waiting for a table!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had read the many great reviews and was looking forward to trying out this place.We had to wait for a table for 40 minutes whilst stood there like lemons with no feedback from the staff with how long we would have to wait or whether we were better off coming back later.
Ordered the bacon and egss on sourdough bread.Pretty tasty although eggs were a little overdone.Coffee was great and orange juice fresh and delicious.
Essentially it appeared to be mainly open sandwiches and scones on the menu.
Pretty reasonable food but service a little poor and probably not worth waiting more than ten minutes for a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best scones in Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved 'De Bakkerswinkel' (Zeedijk 37, Amsterdam Centre) the first time, so decided this was the perfect place for a cozy and delicious birthday high tea.
We chose the 'Old baker high tea', which includes a fruit shake, finger food, a variety of quiches, french macaroons, different pieces of cake, their delicious scones accompanied by clotted cream and different types of jam (I recommend the lemon curd), and of course various flavors of (unlimited) tea. (21,50 euro pp)

The best thing is, everything is freshly baked right there. We were all full and satisfied when we left.
Extra info:
- Walking distance from the Amsterdam Central Station.
- Reservation is required, if you want to visit with a (large) group.
- Price for this high tea menu option: 21,50 euros pp. (There are more high tea options with different prices).
- The restaurant will adjust to special dietary needs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EP725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“great breakfast place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stumbled on this place after emerging bleary-eyed on a Saturday morning from the Centraal Station, having taken the train in from the airport. It had just opened at 9 am and we were starving, and virtually everything else was still closed.

It turned out this is one of the best breakfast places in Amsterdam. The hardy bread is wonderful, just perfect with some tasty aged Gouda. Or you can try some of their unusual jams, such as pineapple with basil. (Not sweet at all--we even bought a jar to take home.)

We liked it so much we came again the next day. It even opens at 9 am on Sunday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing