We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast place”

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #11 of 98 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
McLean VA
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“great breakfast place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stumbled on this place after emerging bleary-eyed on a Saturday morning from the Centraal Station, having taken the train in from the airport. It had just opened at 9 am and we were starving, and virtually everything else was still closed.

It turned out this is one of the best breakfast places in Amsterdam. The hardy bread is wonderful, just perfect with some tasty aged Gouda. Or you can try some of their unusual jams, such as pineapple with basil. (Not sweet at all--we even bought a jar to take home.)

We liked it so much we came again the next day. It even opens at 9 am on Sunday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    160
    32
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfasts”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went here for a late breakfast (so late that the breakfast menu had already closed) and weren't disappointed. The food was a bit pricey though. Probably the best way to go, especially during lunch time, is to order a set lunch menu since it seemed to be more value for your money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice place with good food but didn't like the Breakfast options”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

- Great location
- Very neat and cute looking place
- Good food and ingredients
- Menu has several options
- Breakfast options are different type of breads with jams, nothing else. Wouldn't reccomend them.
- It's a bit expensive

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmijuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The atmosphere and the food are wonderful. I would eat here everyday if I could! Price is a tad bit expensive, but worth it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had late breakfast early lunch here a couple of times on recent trip to Amsterdam. Excellent service, choice and value for money. Enjoyed the homemade quiche and selection of rolls, cheese and cold meats on both occasions. Had to wait for a table on our first visit but not too long and got a table straight away on our second visit, the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was served quite quickly - just as well as I was starving....breakfast for two including coffees all for twenty euros....compared very favorably with the buffet breakfast available at our hotel for twenty three euros per person. All in all highly recommended and worth the wait for a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mc_spanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing