We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inviting restaurant, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #149 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Inviting restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We discovered this cute restaurant on our first visit to Amsterdam and were lured in by the array of scones and muffins in the display cases. It was breakfast time and groups of locals seemed to use this location as a gathering place. I had an excellent goat cheese and leek quiche with a small salad with sun-dried tomatoes, candied walnuts, cucumber and fresh tomatoes. My husband had an apple scone. There are 3 different homemade jams on the table in pint jars and some patrons seemed to be finishing the whole jar. Our waitress was courteous and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    136
    29
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forres
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved the sourdough current bread, the home made jams and the mixed fruit juices for breakfast. The second time we went I asked specially for large cups of coffee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraCForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Despite the constant business, staff were still friendly and attentative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I visited here for high tea. I did not pre-book, so there was a bit of a wait, but it was well worth it. The bakery are in a temporary location and looks pretty rustic and served their food and drink on antique crockery, which I felt to be a lovely touch. Once it was our turn, the waitresses were so helpful and friendly. The quiches were the best I have ever tasted (I am not really a big fan of quiche) and the cakes were sumptuously delicious - in fact I could not finish it all. Despite the wait, which appears happen often from what I hear, it was a great place with a lovely atmosphere. If you do not want to wait, you can always make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, simple Dutch food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Located on the Zeedijk, a very active short 3 block street near Centraal Station, this is a winner. They do very typical good Dutch food in the form of fried eggs, French toast, sandwiches, soups, quiche and a daily special along with good coffee, fresh fruit juices and their speciality, great bread and pastries which are embellished with 3 homemade jams. All at reasonable prices. High tea at 4 pm.
Nice, friendly staff although service can be slow and they can be busy as well. There is a community table that worked well for the 2 of us in addition to 2 and 4 tops.
Hours: Monday - Friday : 8.00-17.30 hours. Saturday - Sunday: 9.00-18.00
If you do not read Dutch, ask for the english menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BlakievanHemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wentelteefjes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had breakfast here on a Saturday morning. When I came in at around 9.30 there were still lots of seats available, but by the time I left, one hour later, the place was packed. The atmosphere of this place is charming and relaxed and very 'child-friendly'. The menu has lots of different, wonderful options. Not only for breakfast but also lunch and tea. I got the 'Wentelteefjes-menu' which is French toast with coffee and orange juice. It was lovely. Sweet and rich, very tasty!
Service got slower by the time the place filled up. I ordered another coffee, but they seemed to have forgotten about it and it finally arrived when I was ready to go. They apologised and took it off the bill, so no major issue there. You can also buy lovely treats like scones, cakes, bread, jams and quiches in their take away shop. I really recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing