We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #308 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“excellent location, but that's it”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

excellent location, very friendly staff and decent breakfast, but very poor conditions (old bed sheets, cold and very small room, hotel not renovated, small stairs, thin walls).
i would not recommend it if you have other reasonable priced options. certainly not for couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Radu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    98
    92
    50
    136
See reviews for
24
164
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Loved staying at the hotel for my friends 21st. The staff were lovely and the rooms were clean only downfall was bedding had a few stains which we asked to be changed but they were only swapped around rather than being changed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My step-son and I stayed at the Rembrandtplein Hotel for 4 nights in April. I had heard horror stories of visitors to Amsterdam arriving to find their rooms double booked so was prepared to deal with this when we arrived. To my pleasant surprise when we arrived we were given a free upgrade from a small twin room to an apartment.
The apartment was light and spacious with windows onto the alley behind. During the day you could hear bells from a nearby church. The apartment had a fridge, oven, dishwasher and kettle. Whilst it was not perfect it was excellent value for money and very comfortable. The location is on a quiet street 5 minutes walk from Waterlooplein or the RLD and 10 minutes from Rembtrandtplein.
The Hotel itself had a small bar and smoking room which were very clean and well maintained. In the smoking room was a PC with speakers and a printer for printing off boarding passes etc. The staff were all very helpful and friendly whilst being professional the whole time. We were given advice and directions when needed and we were even assisted in having Chinese food delivered.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Rembrandtplein Hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pot_of_tea_for_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Consistent with previous reviews. Not so much tired more exhausted....... But all the positive comments are also true.
The rooms and hotel reception are a bit grim, towels poor, TV doesn't work, water barely warm, decor dated, bedding argh, .....
However, it's location is great. Walking distance to everywhere in 5 minutes. And the staff really are very friendly. It's good value for money.
If you want to spend £100 per night you'll definitely get better rooms but in an expensive city this hotel gives a good base to get out and enjoy the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Let's call a spade a spade - this is not 5 star. The rooms seem to be like an old brothel with mirrors on the ceiling. Although, it can be quite interesting as it makes the rooms seem larger.
There is no elevator and the building g itself is very old.

Now the good stuff:
The bar is a great little spot and the hotel staff are fantastic and so welcoming. The hotel sits next to the canal with a picturesque church at the bottom of the road. The wifi is very good but may not reach the top floor.

If you want a place to rest your head close to Adam square and to other attractions, but just out the way enough to get a good nights quiet rest then look no further.

This will never both most luxurious place that you'll ever stay. However, if you want value for money, friendly staff and something efferent from the norm, then this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#298 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#313 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#294 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#209 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Property: Rembrandtplein Hotel
Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing