We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #310 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2008

close to amenities, but nice and quiet on an evening. could do with a good clean and a lick of paint. rooms very basic but hey your only sleeping in them. if you have problems with stairs this is not the hotel for you. staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the stairs and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenzie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    99
    92
    50
    138
See reviews for
24
165
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The hotel was situated on a lovely little street that was close enough to all the hussle an bustle but far enough away so that it was quiet and felt safe at night, dam square was only a 10 minute walk away and central station was 20minutes on foot.
The rooms were dated in there decor, but were very clean although small they had eveything to offer. I would definatley recommend and stay there again, we had clean towels everyday and the rooms were cleaned daily. The staff that worked there were very friendly and helpful the reception was open 24 - 7 so it didnt matter what time you came an went .

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — no view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nicp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Hotel is situated at great place in quiet street and right in center, so its close to Rembrandplein square, chinese part, flowers market and red light zone. You can walk easily to centraal station. So you get easily and fast everywhere in center.
People who worked there were friendly, we had no problem. Reception is open 24h, so no problem with comming back late at night.
We had room for 4 people and had view on the street. The room was clean and simple.
Other rooms which have windows on the other side of the house, have no view. You can see just another wall from the window and theres almost no light thanks to that.
Otherwise we were content and we enjoyed our stay over there.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, hotel's position
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank terezacharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel was really well located, a short walk to the red light district but far enough away to be out of the chaos and to feel a lot safer. It's on Groenburgwal which is not on Rembrandtplein but is quite nearby. We got a bit confused on the way there as there's another hostel called Rembrandt Square (Plein means square in Dutch). Groenburgwal is on a canal and is quite a pretty little street. The area is quite quiet at nighttime but there's no shortage of coffeeshops and the hostel has an all night bar if you need it. The room we had was very dark and the mirrors were tinted brown for some reason - if you wear make-up that might be a bit of an issue. The others in our group got a room on one of the higher floors and it was much airier and brighter but they did have to hike up a lot of stairs. The shower wasn't bad at all, good pressure and plenty of hot water. All in all I think we did pretty well with this place. If you are a very picky person this might not be the place for you, this place is not perfect - but you will pay a lot more to find somewhere that is. It was clean, safe and the beds were comfortable. Certainly not a luxurious place but for the price (in Amsterdam) I think we got a very good deal. Other places had so many horror stories I was quite worried about staying anywhere but I don't think you'll come to much harm staying here! Just a warning, be prepared for very steep stairs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, clean and safe.
  • Disliked — Very dark room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaudgeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Read the reviews on this hotel before booking and as there was a mixed bag, thought I'd give it a try.

However my friend and I asked to leave after the first night it was that bad. Ant powder on the floor, no window - just a boarded up frame, shower that was like a tap, a plug with no surround just exposed wires, and stains and crumbs on the floor.

I would recommend you avoid this "hotel".

  • Liked — The door out.
  • Disliked — The cleanliness.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

The hotel was wonderful we stayed for two nights but would defintely stay here again as it was a pleasant atmospheric hotel and the staff were friendly helpful and breakfast was lovely.
We would recommend this hotel for its location and proximity to all the sights.

  • Liked — the friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing not to dislike
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mimiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

This was a surprisingly nice place for a "hostel". It was a perfect location to walk to all of the tourist locales. The first impression upon entering the hotel was very positive. The staircases were strange, but that goes with an old house in amsterdam, and to top it off we were in the room at the VERY top. The bathrooms and beds were VERY clean. Access to rooms was given only to guests through a "buzz-in" process. Great overall experience. Would stay again!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#204 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#294 of 368 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Property: Rembrandtplein Hotel
Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing