We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandtplein Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #292 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this using hostelbookers.com and we were happy with the hotel considering the amount we paid.
Obviously for a cheaper price you cannot expect much so I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. AWESOME location.
Compared to other hostels that we paid a similar price for, Rembrandtplein had nicer looking rooms.
The boy behind the counter that greeted us was very helpful, full of information and really nice. The hotel also has a pug called Rembrandtplein who is really cute, the staff let us pat him and hang out with him. They were all relaxed and friendly.
Computer with internet access downstairs and breakfast too.
Overall, for the price we paid we were really happy and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodyTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
thank you for your time to write us , we apreciate it and will use it for further improvements .we take care to have the price and quality in balance . but we have a small comment from our Dog , he said his name is Rembrandt and not rembrandtplein... and he said that not the hotel have a dog but that the dog have a hotel .... and to be honest he acts like that , welcomes guests ,sleeps ,eats and we work for him ... ha ha . looking forward to welcome you again, sincerely Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    85
    46
    124
See reviews for
23
152
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly to use throughout our stay, couldnt of ask for better service. Location was in a great position. The bathroom could of been updated slightly and sorted out, but couldnt fault with room as paid not alot. I would def go back and stay at this hotel, had a great holiday.....Thank You!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you for your time to write us ,we appreciate it and will use it for further improvements . it have been our pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to welcome you next time with even greater hospitality . sincerely manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amsterdam is a lovely city but a poor hotel can spoil all that beauty. This place looks nice as you walk into the lobby but that where it stops. The hotel is poorly run starting with breakfast. There were literally 6 slices of cheese spread out in 3 trays in the breakfast area and 6 slices of questionable, sliced ham. The rest of breakfast consisted of two piles of stale bread and a few tiny packages of peanut butter and jam. I joked to the other guests that we have such a wide selection for breakfast. They laughed and rolled their eyes saying, "it is very poor". Then you have the hotel rooms themselves which are more like little closets with beds in them. My mattress was so lumpy it must have been there since WWII. The bathroom was constantly leaking and there was a puddle in front of the toilet which as soon as it was wiped up reappeared quickly. The rug was stained all the way up all floors and in the rooms. Just so awful. There was no heating in the room which was damp all the time. They charge a room key deposit and when I went to collect it they said we don't know how to give it to you, you have to wait for the person who took the deposit. They will be here on Monday. Yeah great! on Monday I will be half way around the world. With a dumb smile, the answer was, there is nothing I can do.
This is one of the cutest neighborhoods and I love this city but what a dump of a hotel. It should be closed down. You can get a place just a block away that is way better and have a good stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Stay away the rooms are bad and service is worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
we apologise for the misunderstanding with the key card ,after the receptionist called me it was sorted out immediately. We had a meeting with all staff and discussed it so it will not happen again . we noticed based on your reviews that you stay usually in Amsterdam in 4 star hotels . we understand your disappointment about us since we are a budget hotel where price and quality is in balance . feedback is to help future guest to make their choice and its only fair to judge us in the category that we are. you loved the neighbourhood and you have right there are, 4 star hotels around us and suggest you book them on your next visit to avoid disappointments. We don't have a restaurant and breakfast is not included, or paid for , we simply give free drinks and food in the morning in our lobby as a service , not obligated . you booked a single room through expedia where exactly the pictures ,description and size 10square meters of the room is mentioned .we know that's small but so its the price . And we compensate small rooms with our lobby and smoking area that guests can use , drinks not obligated , own food and drinks permitted. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of Amsterdam . Sincerely Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The most apalling place ive ever stayed . DISGUSTING . Cant believe a place like that passes any health and safety regulations
Please avoid . The room had fire alarm hanging off the ceiling ,couldnt open tbe window as the catch was broken . Leaking toilet
No toilet paper and had to ask for towels so thin and small you could see through them .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
we regret you didn't enjoyed your stay with us ,we are a budget hotel and if you expected more we understand your disappointment but you have booked through expedia our partner where you have exactly the picture and description of your room ,the measurement of the room etc. the rooms are small because we are a hotel in a monumental listed building , typical ,old dutch brown style ,like many of the bar and restaurants in our neighbourhood and are not allowed to change anything, but that's the charm of the hotel, we are an warm homely atmosphere unique hotel in the style you only find in a Old canal house in Amsterdam . you wanted an upgrade but we were fully booked and couldn't help you ,we don't find it fair that you said if we don't you will put a bad feedback and also its incorrect to make pictures from the corridor that we currently are renovating , these are not pictures from your room. windows are not allowed to open more then 20 cm due exactly because of the health and safety regulations. sincerely ,manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing location on beautiful canal walking distance to every part of Amsterdam. Breakfast basic [but often ran out early] reception staff very helpful. We were on the top floor......getting a suitcase up was a challenge to say the least. Getting up ourselves was, too. Near vertical stairs. But we looked on it as good exercise!
Room was fine [we didn't expect 5* and got exactly what we paid for] the shower worked which is most important but it was horribly hot at night and no fans supplied when I hopefully asked at reception. What would be ideal is a kettle etc in the rooms and at breakfast for a POT of coffee or tea to be given, save having to keep going asking for a 2nd cup which took up staff time
I will stay here again as would my accompanying friend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleetLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thank you for your feedback ,and your sportive positive way of looking about the stairs ,they are typical Amsterdam stairs , most of our neighbours have even steeper ones , That's why all houses have hooks outside the building to carry furniture and goods .in the early days we had to pay tax on the wideness of the houses ,Dutch people don't like to pay tax and build houses narrow but long .This all happened somewhere like 400 years ago. About the kettle , You are our guest and its our pleasure to serve you the drinks even the second third and more . As we all know the weather gets more extreme lately and during your visits we had unusual hot weather , since it happens more often we did apply for a air-conditions system but it takes time to pass all regulations because we are an Old monumental listed Canal House where nothing can be changed that influence the character of the buildings. thank you for your visit we look forward to welcome you again, sincerely. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently booked a room for four nights. Professional and kind staff who were very friendly and tried to make us feel as comfortable as possible. I loved how our room was directly across the canal and you could hear church bells ringing. It was centrally located to everything! (How did I get so lucky in finding this hotel?) You can sleep soundly because it is very quiet even though people take tours on the canal -- there were no problems. You have a continental breakfast which consists of toast bread, jams, deli meats, cheese and great coffee--no eggs which we didn't mind. I extend my appreciation to the hotel staff, especially Elena, Jordy, "Tico", Estephan, and of course, "Rembrandt" (I loved that pug since I missed mine at home while on vacation). Hopefully, we can stay there again but for a longer time! I recommend this hotel for customer service, location, and the beauty of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view, across the canal. Be ready to climb some stairs since there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your time to write us , we apreciate it and it gives us motivation to continue to work even with greater joy . Yes Rembrandt is a lovely dog and gives so much positive energy to all of us , right now he is sleeping behind the reception and as you know he snores and sleeps very deep what makes it very difficult for us to stay awake... but coffee helps. Rembrandt says next time to bring your dog as well so he can show amsterdam and have company to play with . We look forward to welcome you back again anytime when your travel plans brings you to our city again. It has been a pleasure having you as our guests. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Realy helpful day staff, frendly and speek English. They adviced on local attractions and weather. Made us feel welcome as did the dog which made it feel homely.

The hotel was in a fantastic location with everything in walking distance. It does need some redecoration but this is being done. The rooms were sutiable size and had a tv. The dineing room and lounge were tidy and comfitable.

I would have liked drink facilitys in my room such as a kettle. A welcome to hotel guide with map/info/rules in multi launge in each room would be good. Also snacks such as chocolate and chrisp behind the bar would be good.

All in all i was happy to stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rferretuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
thank you for your feedback we appreciate it, we are an old Listed monumental building where the rooms are kept in there original sizes to keep the character of the building and the, Old Dutch Brown style, alive.the rooms are small but as a compensation we have the lobby that guest can use as well and a smoking lounge with computer/printer . free of use . Own drinks and food can be consumed here. we don't have information in the rooms because we want to encourage contact with us where we can better advice or explain our rules an regulation, our history and to give suggestions what to do and where and when , we look forward to welcome you again,sincerely Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#285 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#306 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#187 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#215 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Property: Rembrandtplein Hotel
Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing