We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but the stairs not for the faint-hearted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing location on beautiful canal walking distance to every part of Amsterdam. Breakfast basic [but often ran out early] reception staff very helpful. We were on the top floor......getting a suitcase up was a challenge to say the least. Getting up ourselves was, too. Near vertical stairs. But we looked on it as good exercise!
Room was fine [we didn't expect 5* and got exactly what we paid for] the shower worked which is most important but it was horribly hot at night and no fans supplied when I hopefully asked at reception. What would be ideal is a kettle etc in the rooms and at breakfast for a POT of coffee or tea to be given, save having to keep going asking for a 2nd cup which took up staff time
I will stay here again as would my accompanying friend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleetLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

thank you for your feedback ,and your sportive positive way of looking about the stairs ,they are typical Amsterdam stairs , most of our neighbours have even steeper ones , That's why all houses have hooks outside the building to carry furniture and goods .in the early days we had to pay tax on the wideness of the houses ,Dutch people don't like to pay tax and build houses narrow but long .This all happened somewhere like 400 years ago. About the kettle , You are our guest and its our pleasure to serve you the drinks even the second third and more . As we all know the weather gets more extreme lately and during your visits we had unusual hot weather , since it happens more often we did apply for a air-conditions system but it takes time to pass all regulations because we are an Old monumental listed Canal House where nothing can be changed that influence the character of the buildings. thank you for your visit we look forward to welcome you again, sincerely. Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 430 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently booked a room for four nights. Professional and kind staff who were very friendly and tried to make us feel as comfortable as possible. I loved how our room was directly across the canal and you could hear church bells ringing. It was centrally located to everything! (How did I get so lucky in finding this hotel?) You can sleep soundly because it is very quiet even though people take tours on the canal -- there were no problems. You have a continental breakfast which consists of toast bread, jams, deli meats, cheese and great coffee--no eggs which we didn't mind. I extend my appreciation to the hotel staff, especially Elena, Jordy, "Tico", Estephan, and of course, "Rembrandt" (I loved that pug since I missed mine at home while on vacation). Hopefully, we can stay there again but for a longer time! I recommend this hotel for customer service, location, and the beauty of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view, across the canal. Be ready to climb some stairs since there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your time to write us , we apreciate it and it gives us motivation to continue to work even with greater joy . Yes Rembrandt is a lovely dog and gives so much positive energy to all of us , right now he is sleeping behind the reception and as you know he snores and sleeps very deep what makes it very difficult for us to stay awake... but coffee helps. Rembrandt says next time to bring your dog as well so he can show amsterdam and have company to play with . We look forward to welcome you back again anytime when your travel plans brings you to our city again. It has been a pleasure having you as our guests. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Realy helpful day staff, frendly and speek English. They adviced on local attractions and weather. Made us feel welcome as did the dog which made it feel homely.

The hotel was in a fantastic location with everything in walking distance. It does need some redecoration but this is being done. The rooms were sutiable size and had a tv. The dineing room and lounge were tidy and comfitable.

I would have liked drink facilitys in my room such as a kettle. A welcome to hotel guide with map/info/rules in multi launge in each room would be good. Also snacks such as chocolate and chrisp behind the bar would be good.

All in all i was happy to stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rferretuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

thank you for your feedback we appreciate it, we are an old Listed monumental building where the rooms are kept in there original sizes to keep the character of the building and the, Old Dutch Brown style, alive.the rooms are small but as a compensation we have the lobby that guest can use as well and a smoking lounge with computer/printer . free of use . Own drinks and food can be consumed here. we don't have information in the rooms because we want to encourage contact with us where we can better advice or explain our rules an regulation, our history and to give suggestions what to do and where and when , we look forward to welcome you again,sincerely Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed with my wife here on our recent trip and it was a harrowing experience!!!! The room was very small and the bed was dirty with cigarette butts and garbage in the gap between the bed and the wall (this was supposed to be covered with a wood frame which was broken so could see all that). The linens were not good and there was no fan or a/c to use in the room. Our room was on the topmost floor and as there was no elevator we had to carry our luggage on the stairs which were too small to fit 2 persons at the same time. The only good thing I could say about the hotel was its location. It was a 2 min walk to the flee market and waterlooplein square. Lots of restaurants in 2-3 min walk was a good thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna_2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We regret you didn't enjoy your stay with us , within the budget and Rating that we are we do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. we are a monumental old hotel in a listed building where the rooms ,stairs are kept in the original state . that make us an unique hotel with a lot of character ,typical Old Dutch Brown Style , like the typical bars and cafe in the old center. we never claimed to be of higher standards and should be rated in the category that we are ,we exactly delivered the room ,sizes of the room and services as mentioned in our description and pictures of the property. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam and his beauty despite your experience with us and had a good time. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maryna D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and a friend stayed for 2 nights and for that amount of time this hotel was just fine. The breakfast was less than basic although that didn't bother me too much. The staff were kind and helpful and the manager seemed very laid back which would encourage me to stay there again. Damon and Gren :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdamonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very pleasant location, just on the edge of the red light district, some said the rooms were small in other reviews, however we found that they also had a number of apartments which were basic but ideal for a short break, staff were friendly and helpful. we were originally book for one of the room so they put us in an apartment, which we then asked to stay in which was not a problem
Breakfast was as you would expect basic but adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 374 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 374 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#202 of 374 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#188 of 374 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 374 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $85 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing