We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #319 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Amsterdam is built in a special way where the city center is different from cities such as Prague, Stockholm, London or Paris.
Getting a hotel in Amsterdam often means that you end up outside the city center, and must take the tram to get to the Amsterdam City.
There are metro, but it is not exemplary build metrosystem, if you do not get a hotel right by a metro station.

Anyway, regarding this hotel - you do not have to think about transportation within the city. From the hotel you can walk around Amsterdam's compact city center.
For me, this means VERY much for a great experience of Amsterdam!
If you compare this with other hotels that have this good location in Amsterdam and you will see the difference in price it is.
From this hotel you are 5-10 minutes walk to Amsterdam Centraal, Rembreindtplein, Red Light District, Waterlooplein, and Dam Square.
I say it again, this is a very good central location, it is very quiet and peaceful at the hotel and throughout the stay, it felt very safe area of the city of Amsterdam.

The standard is relatively low and the hotel is worn. Our room had only one large bed and a TV that did not work. Wi-Fi did not work when we had the room at the top, however, seems to Wi-Fi function from the lobby up to the second floor.
We had a large double bed with mirrors on the roof..
I traveled with a friend so they were well mostly something we laughed at that mirrors.
The interior of the hotel is typical dutch i think thats very charming. When you go up the thin stairs of the hotel so you know you can only be in city in the world, Amsterdam! :-)

Breakfast was in class with hostels. Any bread with cheese and ham, some cereal and milk and juice and water. That's all I need at least.

What do I give the hotel a four is the staff is very friendly and service minded. The hotel is quite small and they are quickly becoming one familär feeling that rarely / never occurs in larger hotels. Woman with curly hair at the front desk to have many thanks for her helpfulness!

If you plan to spend much time at the hotel, do not choose this. But if you want a cheap hotel in the center of town where you get good value for money, this is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: If you want free Wi-Fi so choose a room on floor one or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillyRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 431 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. After all bad reviews that we have read, we didn't know what to expect. But the hotel is really nice, clean and the location is great. Everything is in walking distance. Staff is also nice and helpful. Thank you people, hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariicheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Firstly the cons. No lift and steep stairs. Small room with mirrors EVERYWHERE!

Pros: Mirrors EVERYWHERE (dependant on taste I guess). The location is excellent and walking distance from Dam Square, Red Light District, Ice Bar, Museums, Anne Franks house & just round the corner from Rembrandntplein Square. Situated in a quiet Pros: Mirrors EVERYWHERE (dependant on taste I guess). The location is excellent and walking distance from Dam Square, Red Light District, Ice Bar, Museums, Anne Franks house & just round the corner from Rembrandntplein Square. Situated in a quiet street overlooking a canal and a picturesque Church, it is ideal if you want to enjoy the sights asounds, but want a quiet nights sleep when you get in. overlooking a canal and a picturesque Church, it is ideal if you want to enjoy the sights and sounds, but want a quiet nights sleep when you get in. The toilets are a good size and are in fact a wet room with shower included.

The staff are really polite and helpful. Eléna was a lovely hostess with her little Pug 'Ibbis' & gave us a very warm welcome & guide to the nearby surroundings.

If you want a quiet place to sleep on the doorstep of the wonderful city of Amsterdam, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location in easy walking distance of all the main Amsterdam attractions and lovely and quiet! Great bars nearby and close to Rembrant Square for restaurants.

Easy walk to the station

Staff are really pleasant and helpful, steep stairs to the rooms and as with most Amsterdam Hotels, small rooms but very serviceable and comfortable.

Would stay again if I go back to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TartanTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here as a group of three couples at the end of Feb, and after reading the usual bad reviews, I was quite worried - not for me, i'll sleep anywhere - but for the others! Anyway, I couldnt find a hotel in the same location for less and all we wanted was somewhere to base ourselves, so I kept the booking. When we arrived, their systems were playing up so we couldnt be allocated a key card. We were asked to go into the bar area, where we were given a free beer and a map of the area by the lovely lady on reception. Keys eventually sorted we went up to the rooms. Yes, they do need a refurbish, and our room was very small ( I think the canal view rooms are much bigger) facing into the central area, ie, you can see into some of the other rooms - curtains are made for this! But I have stayed in other budget hotels in Amsterdam and they are all small. It had two comfy beds, a tv and wardrobe. The bathroom was very small, you could have use the toilet, brush your teeth and have a shower at the same time if you wanted! Its more like a tiny wetroom. But it was clean with towels provided. Only problem really was the shower head is fixed in the ceiling so you can't move it at all. We were on the 2nd floor and the steps are steep (typical Amsterdam), there is no lift so I did feel for our friends on the fifth (ha ha). The reception area is quite nice and inviting, and its on a lovely street facing a canal not far to walk to anywhere. The night man was so lovely, always there to get us a drink when we got in (late) and when we were leaving early Monday, happily made us a coffee before the breakfast things were out. Breakfast is typical continental - scrambled eggs, bread/toast, meat, cheese, tea/coffee and orange juice from 7-11 I think. And this was included in the price, so was city tax which I though wasn't when I booked it so pleasantly surprised.
So all in all, its not a bad little hotel for somewhere to sleep, staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and really help to make the stay enjoyable.
Dont worry too much, if you just want a base for a few days, this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing rooms but you'll be lucky to get one I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracylh5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Tracy , We thank you for your stay and apologise for the delay with the check inn , unfortunately nowadays all work is done through internet , the provider KPN had a problem and half of amsterdam was without internet. City tax was not included but we decided not to charge you because of the isue with the key cards on check inn. We give breakfast for free because we want our guests to have a place to meet and exchange experiences in Amsterdam , give advises etc. We apreciate your review and will use it to improve our standards .About the size of the rooms and the stairs we cannot do anything because we are situated in an Old Monumental building , Protected by Government regulations. Management .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location in amsterdam...not so close to the centre (red light district) and not so far away either. It is located in a quiet area in the city. The good thing about this is that one can sleep at night while not being far away from the main attractions (10-15 min walk). The staff is also very friendly. When we needed help they were glad to help us. Toast with ham/salami/butter/cheese and scrambled eggs were only available for breakfast and the toaster took ages to toast the bread! We had a room with the canal view...it was wonderful! But the towels available in our room weren't that clean! We noticed make-up marks and hair from previous users in the towels!! It was so disgusting! On the whole it was average!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rit003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Rit ,

We regret that the towels were unclean and apologise for that ,we have daily housekeeping , reception and they would have changed the towels immediately and a compensation would have been given. we disagree with your rating about the value , our prices are one of the lowest for the location a quiet residential area but within minutes away from major tourist atractions and services provided such as , free internet , free buffet breakfast ,free maps and discount vouchers for restaurants , museums etc. we thank you for your feedback .
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was probably the best hotel i have stayed in on a short break. After reading so many
bad reviews of hotels and hostels in Amsterdam we settled on Rembrantplein hotel. Was really surpised when we get there at how nice the hotel actually was. There was 4 of us girls staying in a room together, the room was actually really big (room 1). The staff made our stay, they were so friendly and helpful we were actually quite sad to be leaving. Espeicailly Andy!! he looked after us all weekend. hotel is clean and in a really nice area. you dont have to walk far to be in the centre of Amsterdam and can easily walk most places you need to go. loved Amsterdam and will be returning and will definatly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0lli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#199 of 373 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 373 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 373 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#216 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $89 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing