We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It doesn't deserve to be called a hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Manofa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Manofa
Ranked #345 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It doesn't deserve to be called a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here last year with my cousin. We primarily chose this place because of its convenient location and frankly speaking that is the only good thing about this hotel. I understand that Amsterdam is expensive but this place is an absolute rip-off for service offered . We paid 220 euros for 3 nights, and what we got was a small dingy room, dirty toilet and stale breakfast.I don't even think they cleaned the room when we were there. Luckily , we were hardly there as we were out whole day. I would never stay at this place with family or with a partner. It is disgraceful.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    79
    202
    135
    370
See reviews for
67
144
63
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

3 days you won't remember but never forget! Is everything you need for a few nights in Amsterdam, right next to shops and food, red light district just round the corner with pub crawls starting a 2 minute walk away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Well, we stayed here for 5 days last week. We arrived on Thursday the 6th, there were supposed to be 6 of us staying but 2 people pulled out at the last minute. The 4 remaining people arrive expecting to be allocated with two treble room(which is what we booked) only to be given what was supposed to be 1 treble room. Apparently they had to cancel the other room as they could only take one £75 down payment.(we were advised by the hotel that nothing would be taken form the card as we could pay on arrival). Now surely it would have been standard customer service for the hotel to at the very least drop me an email to let me know this had happened but NO!(Apparently it is not their problem to try to hang on to a booking, apparently it was down to the booking company to let us know payment was declined, i doubt this as it was the hotel who decided to take an unauthorised payment)The room we were given only had two beds in it with a mattress on the floor to make it up to a 3 berth room(no way was it) but they let the 4 of us stay at no additional cost as initially they were wanting to charge us a concession of é25 per night for an extra body sleeping in the room, even though the mess was THEIR fault).
They put another mattress on the floor which just about fitted in the room. The bathroom was stinking, We had to clean the bathroom before getting washed, heating was never on(this is early FEB, Heating is required).
Their breakfast was stale, and consisted of bread, cheese(slices), ham and salami.
In general the hotel was noisy, we knew before we went that it was situated in the middle of Dam rack and would be noisy but didn't expect there to be full blown arguments flowing every night between digruntled guests and the management. I do not mean a little tiff i mean a full blown arguments.
Luckily enough this was not my first trip or I would never have went back to Amsterdam.
Very disappointed but at least we were in Amsterdam and as many know it is not hard to get over to sleep.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP

Room Tip: Dont stay here, simples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I consider myself flexible with accommodations when staying at a cheap hostel, full well knowing I will not be receiving premium service. Most places I stay in provide the basics, friendly service, transportation arrangements, wake up call, etc. This is not one of those places. My first night I was assigned a room on the first floor which faces the main street. It was a Saturday night and all the club goers and music kept me awake nearly the whole evening. I asked to switch my room for the second night, and I was put in a room on the top floor, though not facing the street, was VERY humid. Seems like this place has no decent rooms. I had an early morning the flight the next day, and asked the person at the front desk when he knocks on my door to make sure I open the door (so I am wake) but he just gave me a rude look and replied "I am not your sitter". Afterwards, when picking up my luggage at the front desk, another desk clerk did not bother to move other luggage out of the way to assist me. This type of service is inexcusable, the hotel good thing about this hotel is it's central location in the city. But the quality of the service is so awful I would rather stay at a more distant location and pay for transportation back and forth, or pay triple to stay in first class accomodations. No savings at this hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Armo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was really afraid to stay there after reading a vast number of the reviews about mice, etc. But I have to admit the hotel overperformed itself in my eyes.
Firstly, I wrote them an e-mail telling I gonna come really late in the night of the check-in and received the answer in half an hour that it is completely OK.
We came there for a one-night stay during our eurotrip. I already knew that this will be a hostel-type apartment in a really old house, so I was ready for everything :)).
Actually the hotel was clean, beds were well-made, receptionist was really nice. Yes, the stairs are really steep, so I wouldn't recommend the hotel for the elderly people, but for us it was OK. We got the room at the third floor, small (like promised, as soon as it is an old house, I was not expecting 3 m ceiling), with two beds. Furniture was not new, but well-repaired and clean. Hotel was a good value for the money.
Oh, btw, receptionist was so kind that nevertheless they had no luggage room, he asked to put our bad under the reception desk to look after it).

Room Tip: Choose a room at the 2-d or 3-d floor, not the one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The only good thing was its location. The room was dated and dirty the staff were rude except the Asian lady who was very nice. The people in the next room spent ALL night scream at each other and reception didn't do a thing. Avoid this place,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manofa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manofa

Property: Hotel Manofa
Address: Damrak 46-48, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Manofa 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Manofa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manofa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing