We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #106 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed at hotel Arena for three nights during a business trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a little outside the city center, but this is no problem with the good public transport available in Amsterdam.

The staff in the hotel was friendly and helpful, and the rooms was very nice and stylish. I had a standard deluxe room, and both the room and bathroom was clean. The only minor complaint I have about the room is that the windows was facing towards the entrance to the hotel, where the hotels night-club is located, which was making some noise. The breakfast at the hotel was good, however the staff working in the restaurant was sometimes slow to take orders.

The only negative about my stay was the so called "high-speed internet connection" (wired) costs 15 euro per day, this was a complete rip-off. The connection was very slow, and sometimes it did not work. Wireless internet was only available in the lobby, and costs 12 euro. In 2010 internet access at hotels should be free!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haakonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    824
    326
    114
    90
See reviews for
142
1,190
64
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

It´s a good hotel with nice rooms, great restaurant and the place is well communicated to the center and the main atractions in the city. The only thing is the smell in the bath, to piping...maybe there is a problem with the black waters...
It's an expensive hotel and you have to pay for the internet, bad thing, if you go for business...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dago72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I loved everything in this hotel, it's so dramatic, like sleeping in a theatre. The room is modern loft, fancy lamps, a glass bathroom (good for voyeurs), great bed and space. It's a bit hidden though but we rent a bike in the hotel and visited all interesting places. There's a club and a bar in this hotel but we couldn't hear the noise from our room. They also have lockers which was useful cause our flight was later than the check out, so we could kept our suitcases there while we enjoyed a bit more of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is a gorgeous hotel but not with the best customer service. Upon checking into the hotel i was asked for a card for authorisation, i had no trouble letting them scan my details so they could charge me at a later date for breakfast/mini bar etc. However i wasn't informed that they would block 150Euro from my account. This caused me considerable issues, as the bank in the UK blocked my bank account, and despite being told on check-out that the funds would return immediately, 24 hours later the 150Euro hasn't been returned

The hotel itself is gorgeous and the rooms very modern. I'd recommend staying but just be wary of the 150Euro charge. Whilst i was assured this was standard practice across Amstardam i wasn't informed money would be withdrawn from my account, which resulted in me not being able to withdraw any funds and considerably impacted upon my stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just arrived home from a fantastic time in Amsterdam. Stayed at the Hotel Arena which although the hotel wasn't situated in the centre, it only took 10 minutes on the tram (no.9 & 14) which run every 7 minutes. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, who upgraded our room to a deluxe suite. The room was absolutely gorgeous!!! We were even given guest passes to attend the Salsa Night, which takes place in the hotels night club every last Sunday of the month. Both myself & my partner were extremely pleased with the service we received. We would both most definitely stay at the Hotel Arena again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KokoKouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

stayed there for a long weekend the hotel was very far from the main centre .we got ther late friday so it was dark when we set off for the evening told it was a short walk to the main centre but it wasnt ended up getting a taxi which charged a fortune.i thought i should let people know as i had never been to amsterdam before and thought the hotel would be nearer .our room was really nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webbvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

bad service: rude staff, unhelpful, we arrived and asked if we can book bicycles for the next day. the staff there didnt even check but asked us to rent elsewhere. no free wifi, even if you pay for wifi for 15 euro a day, the signal is only within the hotel lobby, not in your room. we came to know that our flight might be cancelled due to volcano ash cloud and we seek for hotel staff to help to check the website and notify us before we depart to the airport. the staff there refused saying they were too busy, even we could not access to internet on the street, and we were unable to call the airport / airline with our cell phone. once we knew our flight was cancelled and we asked for the price for extension of stay, the hotel raised the price by 70 euro per night.

room: we have an attic room where in most area of the room you cannot really stand upright due to headroom problem. we can only sit on bed inside the room. the blanket we had was burnt by cigarette with holes on it. disgusting.

location: not close to city centre, have to travel by tram anywhere you go. we asked for info to access to hotel before we depart. we waited for 3 weeks with no email reply.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#99 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing