We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just arrived home from a fantastic time in Amsterdam. Stayed at the Hotel Arena which although the hotel wasn't situated in the centre, it only took 10 minutes on the tram (no.9 & 14) which run every 7 minutes. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, who upgraded our room to a deluxe suite. The room was absolutely gorgeous!!! We were even given guest passes to attend the Salsa Night, which takes place in the hotels night club every last Sunday of the month. Both myself & my partner were extremely pleased with the service we received. We would both most definitely stay at the Hotel Arena again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KokoKouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
kent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

stayed there for a long weekend the hotel was very far from the main centre .we got ther late friday so it was dark when we set off for the evening told it was a short walk to the main centre but it wasnt ended up getting a taxi which charged a fortune.i thought i should let people know as i had never been to amsterdam before and thought the hotel would be nearer .our room was really nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webbvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

bad service: rude staff, unhelpful, we arrived and asked if we can book bicycles for the next day. the staff there didnt even check but asked us to rent elsewhere. no free wifi, even if you pay for wifi for 15 euro a day, the signal is only within the hotel lobby, not in your room. we came to know that our flight might be cancelled due to volcano ash cloud and we seek for hotel staff to help to check the website and notify us before we depart to the airport. the staff there refused saying they were too busy, even we could not access to internet on the street, and we were unable to call the airport / airline with our cell phone. once we knew our flight was cancelled and we asked for the price for extension of stay, the hotel raised the price by 70 euro per night.

room: we have an attic room where in most area of the room you cannot really stand upright due to headroom problem. we can only sit on bed inside the room. the blanket we had was burnt by cigarette with holes on it. disgusting.

location: not close to city centre, have to travel by tram anywhere you go. we asked for info to access to hotel before we depart. we waited for 3 weeks with no email reply.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Yes, the buiding is big, the exterior is beautiful, but... rooms are inconvenient - two levels, very steep stairs, no place to hang the closes. In February, it was still cold outside, and in the room too. When I've turned on the heater, all the heat went up, to the "bedroom", and on the "first floor" it was still very cold. So, when you are going out from the shower, the freezing feeling wasn't pleasant at all.
The price is above average, but you don't get neither breakfast, nor WiFi. Moreover, even when paid for the Internet connection (3 Eur per hour!) - it was not working. I've ordered the shuttle service to the airport and after 1 hour of waiting it didn't come!
When checking out, I was astonished, that I was charged for a tea bag (that was provided in the room, as I supposed, for free, as it is being in the normal hotels over the world) - 6 EUR. So, at least they don't charge for soap and shampoo :)
I'll never recommend this hotel to any of my friend or colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azzy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great hotel with friendly staff. Great rooms. The food in the bar was very nice and we enjoyed it. Maybe breakfast was a bit too much charging us 16.50 euro but very nice. Looking forward to be back in March.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chouffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I searched for days for the right hotel at the right price in Amsterdam.. having visited a few times before i knew standards could be quite low.. I must say this hotel was excellent.. i'd put it at 4/5 stars.. my room was split level, everything felt brand new, bathrooms were funky and very modern, the shower did flood it though as it was wet room style, reception staff were faultless, the food in the restaurant was perfect, the bar prices were reasonable.. car parking securely on site, ( i drove over from the UK ) two minutes from the tram lines, there's a supermarket just around the corner.. come out of the hotel, turn right, over the bridge turn left along the tram lines and it's about 100meters down.. fresh fruit/pastry etc for breakfast on a budget..

All in all this hotel was perfect, you couldn't be disappointed if you tried, it is a little out of the centre, but trust me.. five minutes listening to the yobs and hookers/pimps/sex show agents in the centre and you'll be counting your blessings of the 5 minute tram ride

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short city break after a business trip to Breda. First of all we were struck by the dark (i.e. black) decor in reception and the public areas of the ground floor, and we wondered what we'd let ourselves in for. Nevertheless we got a very friendly welcome, and because we'd booked a package including parking for our car and 48-hour public transport passes, we were offered free tourist maps and guides, which turned out to be really useful. (I would recommend such a package because the hotel will allow you to leave your car in their car park for the whole of your checkout day, even after checkout time).

The story in the room was quite the opposite: after our eyes had acclimatised to the darkness of the public areas, we were presented with the searing whiteness of the room itself: white walls and ceiling, white curtains, white furniture...and a completely black bathroom. The light switches in the bathroom are also black so I spent several minutes searching along the bathroom wall to find the light switch!

Be advised that the glass partition separating the bathroom from the bedroom is not frosted glass...and you can see through almost all of it. You have been warned! Also, it might just be my enthusiastic showering which is the problem, but there seemed to be some problem with the water draining away from the shower. You may not have the same problem...

Anyway despite the obvious intention for the hotel to distinguish itself by its decoration, the room itself was warm and comfortable, and to have the TV right at the foot of the bed was a nice touch. Some nice toiletries were provided as well.

Breakfast was included in our package, and although the breakfast area was often very busy, we found the food plentiful and of really good quality.

We didn't use the hotel's own restaurant.

As for the hotel's location, it is not really central to the main action in Amsterdam, but there are reliable and frequent trams, the stop being just a short walk away. Our room did suffer a little from traffic noise but not to any great extent.

I think this hotel may try deliberately to attract a younger clientele. That was certainly the impression we got during our stay.

All in all I would stay there again, now I know what to expect!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#