We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #108 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here between the 9-12th of April.. The location is quite close to the centre of Amsterdam.. From here tram 7 and 9 will take you to all the major areas..

The check in time is 3 pm. We had arrived much much earlier. The reception staff was very helpful and allowed us to use their baggage storage at a minimal deposit which they then returned upon release of the storage keys by us..
Then they helped us with a map of the area and guided us to some sightseeing till the rooms would be ready.. Finally when we did check in we were so happy with what we got.. The images on the net do no justice. Our rooms were of the duplex kind with beds on the top.. Wifi was free.. Bathroom was clean.. Lot of amenities.. Tea coffee maker.. Breakfast was a good spread with all that would be needed for a fulfilling beginning of the day..
You must check out the public rest rooms in the hotel.. Loved the tall doors.. After all we were informed that this hotel was a 400yr old monastery.. The high ceilings give ample proof of this.. Loved the hotel and would recommend it to anyone in a jiffy...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear GlobetrotterGoa,

Thank you so much for your extensive, praising review about your stay at Hotel Arena. It is wonderful to read that the service at our hotel was meeting your expectations and that you've enjoyed the facilities and rooms at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt - General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    825
    326
    114
    90
See reviews for
142
1,192
64
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! I was impressed by the architecture and design offered by this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to help us find some toothbrushes late at night. The restaurant in the hotel is also fabulous! The room my husband and I stayed in was not quite what we expected but was lovely nonetheless. The bed was upstairs, the only problem was that the staircase was very narrow and windy- not a problem for us but I could see that it could be troublesome for some individuals. The location was a bit farther than we expected to most of the sites in Amsterdam, needless to say we got our exercise walking to the major sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kiki,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Arena. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt - General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Me, my boyfriend & another couple went to Amsterdam for 3 days as a little short break.

The hotel was fabulous and far beyond exceeded my expectations!!

The whole hotel decoration was to a very high standard!!
The rooms were great, specially the bathroom & the beds were enormous and extremely comfy!!! Fabulous nights sleep!!!

It is about a €15 taxi ride to the red light district centre & €50 from the airport.

Perfect hotel, definitely made my experience of Amsterdam a positive one!!

Definitely will return!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jess1ica_13_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for investing your time in writing a review about Hotel Arena. Our goal is to provide our guests with an impeccable service, so it is thrilling to read that your stay at our hotel was exceeding your expectations!

Wonderful to see that you would like to return to Hotel Arena whenever you will be in Amsterdam.

We definitely look forward welcoming you in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt, General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Definitely not your standard hotel - business travellers might want to look for something a little more strait-laced. Room very stylish, although it could have done with a more thorough dusting. Bathroom especially well-decorated, with very high-quality fittings throughout. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking a little pricy, but not crazy given the nightmare of parking in Amsterdam. Hotel surprisingly cheap on Sunday nights given the atmosphere and style of the place. Great location, with everything within an enjoyable <1hr walk.

Recommended for those looking for something a little off-beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigrich0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your effort to write a review about our hotel. It is much appreciated!
Hotel Arena tries to be a little bit different than a 'regular' 4 star hotel, so it's great to read that you experienced our hotel this way. Thrilling to read that you enjoyed the room and service of Hotel Arena. About the dusting: thanks for your feedback; the room should have been impeccably clean so this is absolutely something we will pay even more attention to. About the parking: Yes.. I guess the only answer I have is: 'welcome to Amsterdam'. The parking rates are extremely high in this city, so we try to offer our guests the friendliest price we possibly can in order to park their car on our private parking.

Wonderful to read that you would recommend Hotel Arena to those who are looking for something off the beaten-track.. because that's what we are!

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel.. Bar / reception / stairs / restaurant were all fab.. The decor and light and layout was unique,. My room was well designed and had a fantastic bathroom with a wet room shower. Bed was warm and comfy. Mini bar was heaving. A great variety of teas as well. The staff were so lovely and the rates were very reasonable.. Virtually next door is a lovely park for a walk / jog and you can hire a bike from the hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Lisa,

First of all: thank you for your time that you invested in writing a review about our hotel. Wonderful to read that the amenities in the room, as well as the service and location of Hotel Arena where fulfilling your requirements. We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caxias
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It was a nice journay at Arena. The satf reception was fantastic! And the location was on central area. From there we can take a litlle walk to the center city. At outside you have a nice place to stay and take a drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Rui G,

Thank you for your effort to write a review about our hotel. It is thrilling to read, that you have had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Arena. We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again!

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully designed, comfortable rooms, with neutral, high quality furnishings.
Great location close to tram link so very easy to get to from Central Station.
Helpful staff throughout entire stay. Highly recommended and would return next time when visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time you invested in writing a review about our hotel. Much appreciated! Great to hear that you would recommend Hotel Arena to other people & that you would like to return whenever you are in Amsterdam. We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#131 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#98 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing