We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice old hotel with good locatin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #104 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice old hotel with good locatin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spend in hotel just one night, but was good experience. very nice old fashioned hotel. my room was in ground floor. small room with stairs (bed is located in the top of the room). nice bathroom, only I was missing vanity set and there was not possible close the door from bathroom (some problems with flor. nice staff, nice restaurant with good vine.

Room Tip: they have free wifi and premium wifi. The free one is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TomasBR,

Thank you for your nice review! I sincerely hope you will be returning to our Hotel and beautiful city soon, to welcome you again and to make sure that your next stay will be as memorable as this one!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    815
    319
    110
    90
See reviews for
137
1,170
64
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

i really didn't want to write a bad review about this hotel as we stayed here before and had a brilliant time but due to circumstances i have to write this. I booked a visit in February for my wife's 50th birthday, I contacted the hotel prior to the visit and i got confirmation that a studio room with a tub had been reserved for us on the 3rd floor which was a surprise for my wife, when we arrived we were told that the room was not quite ready but in the mean time we could get a complimentary drink in the bar which was a nice start. when we eventually got the key it was a room on the ground floor, i thought OK nothing major about the location but when we opened the door it was to a deluxe room (lowest priced)and not a studio (medium priced) which I had paid for, we immediately went back to reception and then spent ten minutes talking to the receptionist who kept on trying to tell us that the rooms are the same even though they are very obviously not. eventually I managed to get through to her that i wasn't happy as I had RESERVED a Studio room and it was a studio room i was going to stay in otherwise they will have to find us the equivalent in another hotel , I then produced a copy of the E-mail confirming my reservation and she then immediately got on the phone to the reservations manager and spoke to him in Dutch for about 15 minutes and the only words we could understand was REQUESTED to which we would reply RESERVED not requested. we got the impression that she was hoping that we would go away and take the room we had been allocated but as we had no intention of doing this she eventually got the reservations manager to come and see us, he was very apologetic but made a big slip up by telling us that a big party of Americans had made a late booking and had requested the whole of the top floor (3rd), he quickly realised what he had said and then tried to go back on it by saying he didnt know what had happened to our booking and he kept on repeating that there were no more studio rooms available, we insisted we had paid for a studio so we wanted a studio so he said he would see what he could do, after we had to stay in the reception area for nearly two hours he eventually came back and said he had found somewhere on the 2nd floor but without a tub, we looked at it and it was a nice room with a good view of the canal so we agreed to stay there and as a token of goodwill he offered us a free meal in the restaurant which was amazing to say the least but it still didn't make up for the fact that they had got our room wrong. the next evening the Americans arrived just before midnight and took over the whole third floor and proceeded to wake up half the hotel with their rantings of how amazing their rooms are, the fact that we could actually here this from our room on the second floor shows just how loud they were (next day I spoke to another couple who were further down the corridor and they said they could her them too). as my wife's big birthday surprise had already been ruined by this hotels blatant disregard to booking priorities we thought nothing else could go wrong with our stay in the Hotel, WRONG our television in our room never worked from the minute we arrived, we reported it to the main desk morning and evening for the first two days and they said they would send Maintenance in to repair it but this never happened, after reporting it on the third day they came out with the story that they have just put in a new TV supplier and the TV's don't work in any of the rooms in the hotel although the TV in the bar was fine and I heard a couple of TV's playing in rooms as I walked down the corridors which tells me that it was only our room and that explains why our room was the only studio in the hotel which was still available. it would be unfair to say that everything was bad, the Wi-Fi was excellent (which is just as well because there was no TV to watch). a lot of the staff are courteous and helpful (although on the day of arriving my wife was given a bottle of wine in our room for her birthday but because she didn't drink it on the first night room service took it back). I had planned on using this hotel for future visits to Amsterdam for pleasure and work, i had also given it very high recommendations to my family and friends who are going to be visiting Amsterdam soon, I will however not be doing this now as obviously the dollar is worth more than the pound to this hotel and the fact that you have used this Hotel before does not seem to mean anything to them.

Room Tip: it doesn't matter because they wont reserve it for you anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlout64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Londonlout64,

I sincerely regret the fact that you have had a bad experience in our hotel. On the day of arrival, we had a large group in house indeed. Obviously the communication from our side did not go as well as usual. We always want to deliver an unforgettable experience to all of our guests. I apologize for the fact that your stay was not living up to your expectations. Because of the fact that we ofcourse value our repeating guests, I would kindly like to ask you to give us another chance to provide you with the high level of service and satisfaction as we deliver to all of our guests.

Whenever you like to return to Amsterdam please contact us directly, so we can arrange everything for you to make sure that your upcoming stay will be living up to the standard which you are supposed to expect from a 4-star hotel like ours.

Again our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Arena in November 2013 with my partner and two other couples for my 30th birthday. We thought the hotel was great. Rooms were really modern and the hotel itself very quirky. Bed was really comfy and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's about a 20 min walk to the centre and station, but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel, of you didn't want to walk. Amsterdam itself was fantastic, and I would love to go back. The Arena was fantastic value and I would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JenWorceter,

Thank you for your most kind review! We are always happy to hear a review from one of our happy guests! Please consider returning to Amsterdam soon so we can arrange another unforgettable stay!

Have a great day,

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked into this hotel after researching lots of places online. Sometimes the pictures look great and you get there and it is a bit iffy, but this place was better than expected, much better. Set in a huge old building, it is a great mix of modern technology and old architecture - It felt really spacious. The bar and breakfasts were really good too. Only slight criticism was that some of the receptionists were a bit surly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard,

Many thanks for placing your review on tripadvisor. As you will understand reviews are very important to us and your opinion is very much appreciated! I am pleased to read that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed Amsterdam once again. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, thanks a lot and I am looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Kind Regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel, while not located centrally, is really fantastic. However, if you can eat outside the hotel I would recommend such. Also, dont bring too many bags if you are staying in a suite as he elevator is not working.

Room Tip: choose one of the suites, and not a room with the bed upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Andrew L,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Arena! My apologies for the non-functioning elevator during your stay. It is very unfortunate but the elevator was going through maintenance at that time. We will make sure that everyting will be up and running by the time you will be visiting us again!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend. It's located just outside of the centre but with several tram stops a few minutes walk away. The lobby of the hotel was absolutely beautiful with an intricate iron and stone staircase dominating the area. The rooms were clean, stylish and well designed. The only gripe from the whole weekend was that the rooms lacked storage space. Apart from a cupboard to hang a coat in (there was only one hanger) there were no drawers to put your clothes in. However, the bathroom was beautiful and I could have spent all day in the shower.
We had breakfast on both days in the hotel. It contained everything, and more, that you needed. The cooked English was nice, the bread was fresh and the coffee was good. There was even the option of champagne if you so desired! We ate lunch on one day, a simple salmon sandwich and a panini but both tasted great and were very fresh.
The service at the hotel was brilliant. They helped us arrange the shuttle from the hotel to the airport, helped us book tickets to the Anne Frank museam and were generally very helpful.

Overall, we have a lovely stay at the hotel and would definitely come back if we visited Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a duplex room which was lovely to have an upstairs space to sit that wasn't on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizandpaulbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Liz and Paul,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay! We were happy to have you as our guests. We are sorry to hear that you haven't had sufficient storage space due to the minimalistic design of some of our rooms. My apologies for that.

I want to thank you for your nice feedback regarding our staff. They were happy to hear your kind review and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We staid in last weekend in Hotel Arena and we liked the friendly personal and very nice accommodiation. Good service for a very good price!! You can walk (if it isn't raining) to the most popular places of Amsterdam like Rijksmuseum.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Google Translation
Beste 'MW',

Hartelijk dank voor uw vriendelijke feedback met betrekking tot uw recente verblijf! Wij stellen het erg op prijs dat u hier tijd voor heeft genomen en wij zouden u in de toekomst graag nogmaals welkom willen heten om u een onvergetelijk verblijf te bezorgen!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, ETB and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing