We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Company night out.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #117 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Company night out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had our staff party at this hotel. Hotel is situated just out of the city centre in a quiet neighborhood, with easy excess to metro links that will get you to the city centre and the train station in just a few minutes. Nice decor and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvduren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    883
    356
    128
    94
See reviews for
150
1,289
68
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Arena on 23th of August 2013 for three nights. I have to say this was the best hotel I have ever stayed in Europe. Staff were friendly, room was luxurious, distance to the city centre wasn't too bad either (tram stop was walking distance from the hotel).

The hotel also added a personal touch through their charming decoration and an excellent bottle of wine to our room which made our experience even more memorable. Will definitely stay here again when visiting amsterdam. A+++ hotel :)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavinSolanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Solanki,

Thank you for your great review regarding your stay at Hotel Arena!

I understand you have enjoyed your honeymoon to the fullest! I am very glad you have experienced your stay as positive as you mentioned in your review. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future. I will make sure you will stay in a similar room as our Welness Studio 224.

Again, thank you very much and I sincerely hope to see you and your wife in Hotel Arena very soon.

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Me and wife stayed at Hotel Arena and we loved our stay.

Location - The hotel is not centrally located in the city, but is exactly what we wanted, as it meant we were just outside and away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is Ideally located near a couple of tram stops that takes you into the main part of the city or just a bit further south easily and quickly.

Room - The room was fantastic and very modern with everything you need. The bathroom was very nice and the whole room was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and big. The TV had a range of channels including many English channels.

Internet - Free wifi

Restaurant - We had a quick lunch on first arrival which was very nice, but other than that we only had breakfast in the main restaurant which was the usual buffet, but all the same very nice.

Service - Staff were very friendly and always very helpful, especially when we asked for recommendations for a good restaurant with local food.

All in all a very nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priyesh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Priyesh,

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We were most happy to have you as our guest, and we would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel!

Whenever you would like to book another room or if you would like to share some more feedback with us, please contact us directly and we will arrange another unforgettable stay for you and your guests!

Again many thanks and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a lovely hotel just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre. We took the Metro to Weesperplein (51, 53 or 54 lines all stop here) from Centraal Station and it's only a short 5-10 min walk once you get your bearings. Later we found that there are tram stops near the hotel which are even closer than the Metro, however if the weather is decent it's also not a great distance to walk to the museum square and other points of interest.

We arrived well before the 3pm check-in time but had no problem getting our room when we arrived. Reception staff were extremely polite, welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. We didn't expect the 50euro holding fee at check-in as most places just take your card details for any extra expenses, so it would have been nice to know about this before arriving- mostly for our own budgeting purposes!

The hotel decor is fantastic and has been done well throughout. We stayed on the second floor which has a landing area out of the lift which needs some tlc, but other than that it has a consistent quirky/gothic but modern feel. The room we stayed in was just about big enough for two of us on a 3 night stay. Great value for money, clean and quiet enough. There were small details in the room such as scuffed walls and door and the tiling in the bathroom that with a bit of tlc would really make the room that extra bit nicer. The bed was too soft for our personal liking, and the radiator made a constant noise resembling that of a trickling tap (which I personally found quite soothing but my boyfriend not so much!) but it was nothing to knock it down for. The shower was the best part of the bathroom after we got used to the tinted glass 'walls'- which we didn't mind but as others have said, other people might!

Breakfast every morning was fresh and well laid out buffet, with a lot of choice if you want to fill yourself up with a cooked breakfast or want something a bit lighter like yoghurt, muesli, fruit, etc. I really recommend trying the fresh loaves of bread which are to die for! We didn't eat at the hotel otherwise as we found the menus for the bar and restaurant a bit limited and pricey. We were surprised when we wanted to order room service on one of the nights that the menu brought to us was the same as the restaurant evening menu, with dishes like wild duck and veal which personally wasn't what we wanted to eat in bed after a full day out in the city! We were hoping for a lighter 'bar snacks' type of menu with perhaps some sandwiches or a burger here and there.

We checked out on our day of departure and left our suitcase and bags there with absolutely no problem. When we went back to collect our bags in the afternoon we stayed for a warm drink at the bar before leaving for the airport. The hot chocolate was absolutely delicious especially after getting drenched all day!

Overall our stay at Hotel Arena was great value for money and we really enjoyed it. A few details which were mostly down to personal preference let it down, but I would definitely recommend it and would return again if were to visit Amsterdam in the future.

Room Tip: Don't order room service if you're after a simple meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Ms. Andrea,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to write down such a nice review. My colleagues at the reception desk were very happy to hear your positive feedback! I apologize for the fact that we hold a €50.00 deposit upon check-in, this is a security measure which is very common in the hotel business, to avoid the fact that you could be bothered by cash payments throughout your stay. Again my apologies for that.

The scuffed walls have been repaired and a different menu has been placed in all of our 116 rooms. Thank you for your feedback and kind words. I hope you will be returning to our hotel soon, so we can provide you and your boyfriend with an unforgettable stay!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heythuysen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

A perfect hotel in the center of Amsterdam. Old structure with design elements. High quality rooms, bar and restaurant for a average price. good value for money.
If you look for a classy stay in center of Amsterdam: i suggest you check hotel Arena

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Renetje,

Your review is highly appreciated by our company. Thank you very much for this perfect reccomendation! We were glad to have you as our guest, I sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

One of the nicest hotels ever. Got a really good value deal on ebookers! Location is a little out of town, bit tiring to walk back after a long day of exploring! But only 10mins from tram stop otherwise. Service and design of hotel top notch; bathroom a bit grotty though. Not unclean but could do with some new grout, sealant etc. Also the bathroom was NOT private!! Overall, would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Lauren,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit. We value your opinion and commentary about the bathroom during your stay. This will be discussed with the hotel management and we will take proper action. Again many thanks for your review and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here 4-8th December (with a group of 6 friends) and whilst the Hotel was very pretty and clean i would avoid this place like the plague. Upon check in i was asked for a card ''for the rooms'' i travel regularly so duly handed over my card as usual only to find a couple of days later they had taken €500 as a holding deposit!! i had paid in full so was surprised by the amount! The person on reception was shocked when i told her how much had been debited and told me it would be refunded immediatley however it took them over 2 weeks and numerous phonecalls to action this! It ruined the whole trip and the staff were so uncaring and couldnt really be bothered with me once i had checked out- i will NOT be staying with this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#128 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#140 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing