We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good venue for a city trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #96 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good venue for a city trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times in hotel Arena and were very pleased with our stay so far. The hotel offers a unique exterieur and interieur, however it looked a bit more run down than a couple of years ago. It defenitely needs some refurbishing.
The rooms vary in size and offer a very different look and feel which is nice. But size is linked to a different price? Breakfast is ok, great that there is capacity to park your car. You can take the tram and you are very quick in the center. The hotel is also nearby the Stopera and Carre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    976
    381
    144
    98
See reviews for
178
1,490
78
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right by a tram stop, a beautiful hotel with lots of history, stunning room with high ceilings and windows clean and modern pod style bathroom. Prompt check in and very helpful staff giving information about trips and transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah16072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The architecture and design of the hotel is very interesting, it shows it's a place with history and I understood from locals this is a fancy place to go out in the evening, with life music and dancing. But I was not impressed at all with the quality of the hotel. My room was small, dated and with poor quality wooden flooring. The bathroom was also small, all black and not very clean. The bed was very soft and I personally dislike it, but more annoying was the very poor phonic isolation of the room. I could hear the person in the neighboring room turning in its bed, without exaggeration. Quality of dinner was very good. Location is not convenient, if you want to visit the center you have to walk 10-15mins to the closest metro station. Check in time is late at 3pm and the staff didn't try to accomodate us when we arrived just before noon. All in all, this is not a place I would return to in my future trips in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at Arena for one night with my boyfriend before journeying to Rotterdam. Both of us had a great nights sleep only disrupted by some loud banging at 08:00 am, at which point we should have probably been awake already.

Easy enough to get to by tube/metro (Weesperplein) or tram (7 and 10 stop very close) and is walk-able from Amsterdam Central in 40+mins. The hotel is situated on the corner of Oosterpark which has some interesting art work and sculptures dotted about. This is a fairly quite area but in easy reach or the more lively city districts.

The hotel, a renovated orphanage, is fairly unique with huge granite staircases and tall ceilings which lend well to the split-level rooms. A lovely mix of old and modern.

The breakfast was good and reasonably priced. We didn't use the restaurant or the bar as we wanted to explore the city a bit.

Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A delux double room was ideal for a short stay (1 to 3 nights) but may have felt too small for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 6 nights in a deluxe room with a deal although you had to pay upfront.
Arrived mid evening and went to the bar for food which was excellent although limited choice.
The room was lovely in that it had high ceilings and was crisp and clean with wooden floors and white bedding. Overlooking the front courtyard - a huge picture window with 2 leather swivel chairs. The bed was in The middle of the room but was limited space to move around one side as here was also a free standing bedside table which I fell over many times during the night. The bathroom was lovely but although we were warned about the black glass box in reality never felt comfortable - when in the shower my husband was making tea on the other side and could see everything which wasn't as bad as when sitting on the toilet - where sight AND sound were unavoidable!
Food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we wanted to eat here a second night but far too expensive. The first night I woke around 1.30 to a persistent drumming and realised across the courtyard was a club - this went on till 4 in the morning and I spent it rocking to and fro on the bed in frustration. Mid week was another such night with an earlier closing around 2.30 but if you wish to avoid it a room over the other side of the building should be requested. The rooms were cleaned every day but we noticed not swept so crumbs and fluff were left on the floor.
The rest of the hotel is beautiful with lovely art and chandeliers and rich furnishings and located near the canal and a lovely little park. Walking distance to albertcruypt market and ten minutes to the metro to the centre or approx 30 minute walk to centre.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for a weekend break with the other half. Yes it's a little bit out of the city but only by a ten minute tram drive which is a couple minute walk away from the hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and polite, helped you with whatever you needed. There is a nice little bar at the end of the street to the hotel which I'd recommend for younger people. The best bit of the room was definitely the bed, was so hard to get out of! The hotel and rooms were very quirky and beautiful, the only downside was the glass door to the bathroom to the bedroom, not very suitable for couples. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#128 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 55, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is located in one of the most beautiful parks of Amsterdam, the Oosterpark. In the popular East side of the city and at only 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre. The hotel is located in a historic building that once functioned as an orphanage and nursing-home. Besides hotel rooms, Hotel Arena has a café- restaurant PARK with amazing food and great views on the park, a hidden patio, creative studios for meetings & events and an old chapel to be used for events. With high ceilings, large windows, sloping walls, wooden beams and original ornaments no room in our hotel is the same. But each room does have a flat-screen TV, air conditioning, seating area and private bathroom. The hotel offers 24-hour reception, free WiFi, bicycle rental and a host that is always there for you to share various insider tips during your unforgettable stay. The hotel's entrance is accessible via the Oosterpark. Parking is available via the underground garage. Several trams stop are around the corner and offer good and fast connections to the main attractions of the city such as Museum Square, Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Dam Square. Experience Hotel Arena: a green oasis in the vibrant centre of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing