We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay in Amsterdam...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #117 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NRW, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Amsterdam...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can't fault the hotel. It is now my second stay in the hotel with about 6 years between each of my visits. The Hotel in my opinion has only got better. It's modern, rooms were clean, staff were all very obliging not to mention friendly. The bar was great, prices are reasonable and with the nearby tram station, the city center is easily reachable. I hope I will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    883
    356
    128
    94
See reviews for
150
1,289
68
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday and because my partner was running the Amsterdam marathon that weekend so we wanted something both romantic and well located for transport in and out the city centre. This hotel answered both needs.

It has a dark boudoir design look with atmospheric lighting in the public areas, but very light and airy in the rooms, which have mainly white furniture and large windows. The hotel boasts amazing architecture (it is a former orphanage but is in fact a very grand building), especially the staircases. The only slight down-point is that some of this decor is already a little faded in some areas and would benefit a lick of paint. Nothing awful though.

The room was very comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was very nice and big, which is unusual in hotels. We only had a shower, no bath, but we prefer showers anyway so not a problem for us but others might find that annoying. Our room was very clean when we came, but the daily cleaning was insufficient, the bed and the room hoovered was made but the toilets were left untouched.

Staff was very good, polite and friendly. We opted for a late checkout and even then left too late because of marathon issues but the staff was understanding. We just would have wished they had told us the price of a late checkout when we opted for it (or even that we had to pay for it at all), as we were quite surprise at the final bill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok and it corresponds to the pricing of the rooms. Minus that the breakfast is not included and that there are no room service. The minibar is really expensive! The bed is really comfortable! You better be comfortable with the one you are sharing the room with because the bathroom has glas walls!

Helpful?
Thank mylidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel have class, that said lets go to other parts, the staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and nice size since it was a budget Hotel. Its was a nice and quite staying. The location is not the best, not close to most attractions but close enough of the TRAM. The Hotel is huge with weird posters, looks like it used to be a great hotel now is a budget one, way too quite with huge wood stairs, looks like a perfect place for suspense movies.... But at the end I recommend for short staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murilo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed a couple nights in September during our trip through Europe. A very trendy hotel with friendly staff. We enjoyed our small but funky loft style room with a very comfortable bed. There is a nice lounge, great for some drinks during the evening, and on the recommendation of the front desk person we took a short walk down the street to a more local bar.
We rented bikes directly from the hotel which was very convenient to tour around Amsterdam. When it rained in the evening we were able to catch the tram easily just down the street. We did stay mid week so we didn't experience alot of noise that has been mentioned in other reviews. It was a great stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the loft since there was only two of us, but it would be rather small for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited for one night, on business.

Flawless check-in and check out, with friendly staff.

A friendly bar with a good range of beers, which also doubles as the dining room for the self service breakfast. The food was hot and tasty.

Had a very comfortable, clean and well appointed room (123) which overlooks a residential lawn. The room is split over two floors, with a gallery from the bedroom over the sitting room, which is great.

However, access to the bedroom I'd via a very steep, turning, narrow painted staircase. I nearly tripped down it, stone cold sober, and a colleague fell down hers.

Also, the "wall" between the lounge and the bathroom is part obscured glass, so if you really need and value your privacy, this might not be the room for you.

It's worth noting that the hotel has a nightclub, which hosts up to (I believe) 1,000 people, so you may want to enquire as to whether it will be open during your visit, and whether you can get a room away from the action.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel would find hard to fault anywhere. We stayed mid week so had no prob with the disco next door but im told it can be noisey. Regardless we thought it was an excellent hotel.
Recendations would be that the office staff take consideration of the clinets ever changing and different challanges when considerating how they can help. We had a date change request which was tuned down due to the fact that we booked on HOTELS.com. Looks like these booking are considered 2nd class ! Not good!

Helpful?
Thank ColmOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#128 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#140 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing