We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for sure”
Review of Amsterdam Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Escape
Ranked #71 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Well we have been to Amsterdam as a group several times but never managed to get availability with Escape before as they were usually booked. We were in luck on our latest trip last weekend as we got to stay in Escape's Amsterdam Coke apartment.

We were five guys so it was ideal for us as it had 5 beds. Coke apartment has 2 floors, canal view, large TV, free minibar, kitchen, Beer tender and beer. The location was perfect, just beside Nieuwmarkt, our favorite spot in all of Amsterdam. Nieuwmakt has it all, great bars, coffeeshops and beside the red-light district.

The decor is COKE, coca cola everywhere, from floor to ceiling so its unusual to say the least.

We all enjoyed our visit and the Coke apartment was ideal for our stay, it had everything we needed and more

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great canal view. Not suitable for small kids as the bedrooms are up a steep set of steps. Ideal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobthailan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Snug apartment. It's definitely the same place that is photographed but it looks much cooler in photos. In person the apartment is sort of dull in color and desperately needs to be dusted.

We had no problem getting our key from their employee Peri (who is GORGEOUS btw) and he was even nice enough to let lend us his personal iPhone chargers. The bed is hard but that's more of a preference issue.

What really irked me about my stay is that Amsterdam Escape emailed us at 1AM to let us know that they were selling the apartment and would be showing it at 3:30PM later that day. I found that pretty rude especially since it was only due to jet lag that we happened to check our email at that time.

Other than that it's a cool place. Great location, very safe. If you're not going to use the unique amenities like the play station and kitchenette I wouldn't waste my money though.

Also pay through PayPal to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRecherche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hideaway for a week during new years. Had a really good time, and both Mo and the online service was as always, very good and helpful.

The apartment was okay, if you like it small and cosy :)
The location is great, nearby the Niewmarkt, lots of good restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

the apartment was perfect really clean and in a nice area everyone was so helpful we didnt need anything it was like home away from home , ill only stay in the hideaway when ever im amsterdam

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great apartment in central location. Getting keys etc all went to plan.
Added extras such as drinks in fridge

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed at the Hollywood apartment for 9 days and loved it!! The apartment is really spacious, and filled with all sorts of cool and funny stuff. The decor is really uniqe, and not what you get in a regular hotel etc. We spent a long time just looking at everything :) Loved the bathroom window, and the elephant curtains in particular.

The location is perfect, couldnt have been any better. Just a short walk away from everything; Leidseplein, Niewmarkt etc. And the canal wiew it was really the finishing touch. The street is quiet, so there was no noise from the street that bothered us during the night. There was a supermarket, and a laundry shop nearby wich was very practical.

The apartment was a bit worn, but that wasnt a problem for us, the fact that its so special and unique outweighs it. It was okay cleaned ( maybe some dusting would be nice....), and the bed and bedsheets was really good......the springs in the bed might need some oiling thogh ;) We didnt order any cleaning during our stay, we just told Mo ( who lived right across the hall) when we needed new towels. We placed dirty towels and garbage outside the door to our apartment, and they were removed quickly.

Mo was there to meet us when we arrived, and was very friendly and service oriented. He helped us with everything we asked him to. We had some shared experience with the online chat, wich were for staying guest only... they were not online as much as they should be,and some of them wasnt wery helpful...... Alice was very helpful though, and Mo from across the hall of course.

We really liked this place, liked having the privacy and space of and apartment instead of a crowded hotel, and we have already booked our next stay :) If you need everything to be top noch, this is not the place for you. Also note that this is a smoker friendly company, so there is alot of smokers equipment in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book in good time before you plan to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I have rented several flats from Amst. Esc. in the past, including 3 at one time when we got married. The most recent, Holywood, was really bad. Our "innkeeper", Mo, was very responsive but there wasn't much he could do. The place was dirty and the pictures were not representative of it's current condition. When I tried to fluff the pillows a could of dust came off them. The shower was plugged (mo finally got it to drain sort of) and the other amenities were mostly in dis-repair (e.g. lights were out, towels had holes, sheets were years old, etc.). When I finally figured out how to turn the tv on what should pop up but a porno video left by a previous renter. We had Mo come by several times but there was just no way to resolve everything. I spent a while chatting on-line with their help person (I believe they're in Ireland) and their only solution was to "talk to Mo". I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds. Unfortunately the hotels were mostly booked. In the end, we stayed in the room but spent next to no time there. We moved the mattress off the crappy springs, bought ourselves two new pillows with sheets and ate out the whole time. I will not be renting from them again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oxsomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamEscape, Manager at Amsterdam Escape, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Hello there

Sorry to hear Hollywood was not up to our usual Escape standards during your last stay. You were actually the last guest to stay there before we closed it for a refit, returning it to its former glory

The problem was we had a leak from the apartment above , which caused quite a mess for us and worse still ,we had nowhere to rehouse guests as all of our other places were booked for months in advance.

We closed Hollywood the 1st chance we got and gave it a total refit repaint , new TV, Kitchen, Playstation 3 and games , making it all brand new.

As one can see , recent reviews are all again very positive.

At Escape you can be assured we go the extra mile for our guests.

As for your comment
'I believe they're in Ireland and their only solution was to "talk to Mo' 'I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds'.

This is not exactly true, our office is actually located on Nieuwmarkt a few minutes walk from our apartments! Mo is the house manager, so of course he is the first point of contact for guests and he can usually solve any problems that occur. If you had decided to leave, we would certainly have offered a refund.

We have never had any complaints about the bed ,but after your comment ,we went and tested ourselves but couldn't find anything wrong with the springs. We've also asked every guest since and none have had any problem.

We thank you for the feedback, which good or bad is gratefully received and should you deign to stay with us again, we would be delighted to offer you a free night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,940 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#201 of 373 in Amsterdam
46 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Escape

Address: Geldersekade Nieuwmarkt, 1012 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $117 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Escape offers a selection of vacation rental accommodation with a difference. Live like a real Amsterdammer with the keys to your own luxury apartment or canal house. Catering for large or not so large groups from 1 to 50 people. If your escaping for a romantic getaway we have some of the most romantic places to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Escape Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing