We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amsterdam Escape
Nearby Hotels
$350
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$292
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$317
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$413
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Toren(Amsterdam)
$285
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
105
14
2
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
14
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staynieuwmarkt squareone bedroom apartmentlarge tvcanal houseshower roomfew minutes walkplaystationcoffeeshopsmicrowavehobsupermarketbasement
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 127 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

the apartment was perfect really clean and in a nice area everyone was so helpful we didnt need anything it was like home away from home , ill only stay in the hideaway when ever im amsterdam

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great apartment in central location. Getting keys etc all went to plan.
Added extras such as drinks in fridge

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed at the Hollywood apartment for 9 days and loved it!! The apartment is really spacious, and filled with all sorts of cool and funny stuff. The decor is really uniqe, and not what you get in a regular hotel etc. We spent a long time just looking at everything :) Loved the bathroom window, and the elephant curtains in particular.

The location is perfect, couldnt have been any better. Just a short walk away from everything; Leidseplein, Niewmarkt etc. And the canal wiew it was really the finishing touch. The street is quiet, so there was no noise from the street that bothered us during the night. There was a supermarket, and a laundry shop nearby wich was very practical.

The apartment was a bit worn, but that wasnt a problem for us, the fact that its so special and unique outweighs it. It was okay cleaned ( maybe some dusting would be nice....), and the bed and bedsheets was really good......the springs in the bed might need some oiling thogh ;) We didnt order any cleaning during our stay, we just told Mo ( who lived right across the hall) when we needed new towels. We placed dirty towels and garbage outside the door to our apartment, and they were removed quickly.

Mo was there to meet us when we arrived, and was very friendly and service oriented. He helped us with everything we asked him to. We had some shared experience with the online chat, wich were for staying guest only... they were not online as much as they should be,and some of them wasnt wery helpful...... Alice was very helpful though, and Mo from across the hall of course.

We really liked this place, liked having the privacy and space of and apartment instead of a crowded hotel, and we have already booked our next stay :) If you need everything to be top noch, this is not the place for you. Also note that this is a smoker friendly company, so there is alot of smokers equipment in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book in good time before you plan to go there.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I have rented several flats from Amst. Esc. in the past, including 3 at one time when we got married. The most recent, Holywood, was really bad. Our "innkeeper", Mo, was very responsive but there wasn't much he could do. The place was dirty and the pictures were not representative of it's current condition. When I tried to fluff the pillows a could of dust came off them. The shower was plugged (mo finally got it to drain sort of) and the other amenities were mostly in dis-repair (e.g. lights were out, towels had holes, sheets were years old, etc.). When I finally figured out how to turn the tv on what should pop up but a porno video left by a previous renter. We had Mo come by several times but there was just no way to resolve everything. I spent a while chatting on-line with their help person (I believe they're in Ireland) and their only solution was to "talk to Mo". I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds. Unfortunately the hotels were mostly booked. In the end, we stayed in the room but spent next to no time there. We moved the mattress off the crappy springs, bought ourselves two new pillows with sheets and ate out the whole time. I will not be renting from them again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oxsomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamEscape, Manager at Amsterdam Escape, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Hello there

Sorry to hear Hollywood was not up to our usual Escape standards during your last stay. You were actually the last guest to stay there before we closed it for a refit, returning it to its former glory

The problem was we had a leak from the apartment above , which caused quite a mess for us and worse still ,we had nowhere to rehouse guests as all of our other places were booked for months in advance.

We closed Hollywood the 1st chance we got and gave it a total refit repaint , new TV, Kitchen, Playstation 3 and games , making it all brand new.

As one can see , recent reviews are all again very positive.

At Escape you can be assured we go the extra mile for our guests.

As for your comment
'I believe they're in Ireland and their only solution was to "talk to Mo' 'I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds'.

This is not exactly true, our office is actually located on Nieuwmarkt a few minutes walk from our apartments! Mo is the house manager, so of course he is the first point of contact for guests and he can usually solve any problems that occur. If you had decided to leave, we would certainly have offered a refund.

We have never had any complaints about the bed ,but after your comment ,we went and tested ourselves but couldn't find anything wrong with the springs. We've also asked every guest since and none have had any problem.

We thank you for the feedback, which good or bad is gratefully received and should you deign to stay with us again, we would be delighted to offer you a free night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Five of us (2 couples and 1 more) rented the Coca Cola apartment for a week. The flat itself is full of character with LOTS of Coca Cola memorabilia to look at and play with. A typical dutch town house, the floors are a bit wonky and there are beautiful wooden beams on the ceilings. The view is lovely too, overlooking one of the many canals.

There is plenty of space for 5 and though it could technically sleep a couple more, there is only one bathroom. The place was well stocked with video games, board games, cable tv, books, cds and dvds. Also nice big cushions to lounge around on. The smoker is very much in mind here and you'll find lots of bits and pieces to get you started on your trip!

The kitchen is fairly well equipped though we did find the lack of an oven a bit of a pain. Not so bad for a weekend but as we were staying for a week it was noticeable. Toaster, kettle, coffee maker, microwave and hob, as well as plates and cutlery etc. were all provided. Escape are also kind enough to include a fridge stocked with a selection of your choice which is included in the price - beer, soft drinks, sweets and chocs etc. They will also do you a grocery shop with no commission charge.

The location is ideal, very central and close to everything you might need. Friday and Saturday night was a little noisy but this is to be expected given the location and type of acommodation. There is a supermarket 5 minutes away as well as a wide selection of cafes, restaurants, coffeeshops, bars and shops.

We found Amsterdam to be extremely friendly and relaxed. Even after dark it is a safe place with very little crime compared with other cities. Watch out for cyclists though!

Mo who managed the 3 Escape apartments in our town house was especially helpful and friendly, telling us to knock on his door if we needed anything at all. We did a few times and he kept his word. He was brilliant and we can't thank him enough!

Overall an excellent stay in an excellent city and we will definitely be trying out one of their other apartments soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomi_1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews