We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel Kap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #279 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    56
    25
    22
See reviews for
21
43
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfect location, really nice service, small rooms, fairly clean and nice beds. I would recommend this as a good budget alternative. The environments are extremely cosy, it is close to the nieces places, to museums and parks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Malin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shumen, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel's location is very good, fast access to transport and river cruises, Heineken museum within 5 minutes walk. The staff and the receptionist are extremely helpful and friendly and they would do anything to please you. Breakfast is very good. I had a single room with a private bathroom in the corridor and a shared toilet, but after all, it is an old building, so I didn't mind that. I had a great experience and I am very happy with my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Momchilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My tiny single room was part bathroom/part bedroom and quite worn down. There was a sink to the left in the room and a shower next to the bed. The toilet was in the corridor and shared with the whole floor. There was a disturbing smell from the in-room shower at first, which I pointed out. They "fixed" it by pouring chlorine bleach in the sewage which made the whole room smell like a swimming pool instead. Overall the room had poor ventilation, and only a sky window which I had to keep open the entire time. However, the hard-working owner was really friendly and nice and really seemed to be wanting to make every guest as happy as possible. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but enough to start the day with. I really wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel, but I will probably pay just a little extra next time to get higher standard. Also, keep in mind that old dutch houses (like the one the hotel is situated in) have very steep stairs, so elderly or disabled people should definitely go for something else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Exceptional service, good choice of food for breakfast, clean and tidy and in a decent location.

We arrived late and the lad who works behind the desk was nothing but friendly and informative. He helped us throughout the holiday with various things and really seemed willing to go the extra mile. Previous reviewers complaining about 3% taxes- who cares when you're paying so little for the room anyway? Nit pickers.

Good location, plenty to do around the hotel and they have bikes for hire if you want to travel a bit further. As I mentioned; you get plenty of bang for your buck.

I will be staying here next time I travel to Amsterdam, I suggest you do too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (room 11) and it was a bit of a hike up the stairs, not advised if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have never before written a negative review for a hotel, but I urge you strongly not to stay here, particularly if you are travelling with older people or children. It bears no resemblance whatsoever to the hotel's description of itself. These were the problems:
Unendurable noise and banging during the night which at times made the walls shake like there was an earthquake.
Terrible hygiene: faeces on the toilet floor in the morning; fragile shower and taps with no seals on the units; dust and grime on the floor.
A rude and petty manager. When I wanted to just to discuss the 3% surcharge for paying by credit card, he withdrew his previous offer of a one-night room upgrade. And do not believe him when he says that all hotels charge this. He will also slap on 8.5% in local taxes: contractually he is entitled to do this, but most Amsterdam hotels include this in the price.
The room furniture is like it has just been rescued from a junkyard, making the rooms ugly and inhospitable.
I am sorry to be so negative, but you need to know the truth before you book.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayfarer598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#137 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#285 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#218 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#257 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#315 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: Den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing