We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Avoid this hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #291 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have never before written a negative review for a hotel, but I urge you strongly not to stay here, particularly if you are travelling with older people or children. It bears no resemblance whatsoever to the hotel's description of itself. These were the problems:
Unendurable noise and banging during the night which at times made the walls shake like there was an earthquake.
Terrible hygiene: faeces on the toilet floor in the morning; fragile shower and taps with no seals on the units; dust and grime on the floor.
A rude and petty manager. When I wanted to just to discuss the 3% surcharge for paying by credit card, he withdrew his previous offer of a one-night room upgrade. And do not believe him when he says that all hotels charge this. He will also slap on 8.5% in local taxes: contractually he is entitled to do this, but most Amsterdam hotels include this in the price.
The room furniture is like it has just been rescued from a junkyard, making the rooms ugly and inhospitable.
I am sorry to be so negative, but you need to know the truth before you book.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayfarer598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    61
    56
    26
    25
See reviews for
21
44
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean room and toilet/shower. About a 20-30 minute walk from all main attractions in Amsterdam. Well worth it, nice breakfast and all at great price! Would defiantly stay here again. Don't listen to the few bad reviews it's great value for money!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Agreatweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousada, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went last December, right after Xtmas and we choose this hotel for the price and location.
We found out a good price at Bo_king and the room said private shower. Be careful, its not a bathroom, its only a shower.
The first time you look to the stairs they're really scary...specially with bags and luggage.

In a 2min walk you have Heineken Experience, 5min walk get to Rijksmuseum and VanGogh, but to the city center its a 15min walk.
The breakfast was fair, but got all the essentials.
Suggestion: rent the hotel bikes for a free ride in the city, its the real way to live the Amesterdam life in the city

Room Tip: Try to have a room with private bathroom, and in the lowers floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li_saax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and a friend stayed at Hotel Kap for 4 nights. We can only speak positively of our time there. The staff did a great deal of effort to make us feel comfortable and happy, and the breakfast was pleasant and attended (granola, yogurt, hot drinks, bread, croisants, cold meat, jam, fruit). For a 2 star hotel and what we paid our stayed was much better than expected, and also the location is great. Literally 10 minutes walking to town and round the corner from the museums.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank estefaniamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. I have read back at previous reviews and I honestly don't know what is wrong with some people. This is a two star hotel! Due to doing a little RESEARCH when booking, my girlfriend and I were fully aware of the toilet situation. In the end we had our own en-suite. The room was clean. The bathroom was clean. The stairs are steep so it's not ideal for older guests. The owner (Chan) behind the desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. We were very impressed by the amount of choice at breakfast. Breakfast is scheduled to finish at 1030 but even when I was late down at around 11, Chan heavily encouraged me to eat something. The Wi-Fi was a little temperamental but it was getting fixed a day or two after we left. The location is very good as we were able to walk to all the major tourist destinations. All in all I would rate this hotel very highly. I would definitely stay again. James and Vicky.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.5 and we had an en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at the Kap during a business travel. I was coming from an almost 24 hours shift, and it provided a very restful sleep for me. Very confortable rooms and beds. There is no toilet in the rooms, but this is clearly stated.

The location is just perfect: close to the RAI, if you need to be there, and you can just walk around in the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam is a wonderful place to visit and if your considering going to Europe this is a place I'd recommend. We stayed at the Kap hotel and it took us awhile to find it while we smelled like garbage and in dire need for a shower after a 7 hour red eye flight from Detroit. We were greeted by a friendly oriental man who was the manager and this man was funny, kind and very helpful. If you had any questions about getting around he would give you clear details and directions and the hotels location is great. Across a canal and down from the old Heineken Brewery and also has a team station close to it called Weteringcircuit. I believe 3 different trams stopped there so it was an accessible location and great place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#219 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#282 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing