We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #299 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a two star hotel, no more, so please dont stay here if two stars aint good enough. Mostly becouse the staff is so great and nice that i wouldnt want them to deal with dissapointed guests.
They made my stay, my honeymoon, so nice, helpfull and charming guys that go that extra mile for you.
I forgot all my shoes at the hotel and they send them to me! No normal 2 star hotel would do that!
Go here for the location, price and friendly staff.
I will def stay here again. Reccomend the larger rooms with french balcony.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tinna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    64
    59
    27
    27
See reviews for
23
46
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in a triple room and this was the first holiday that I went on wig my friends and we thought it was a really good hotel for the money we paid, close to most things and the room was a good size, nothing was broken and the staff were very friendly. Only bad thing was that the stairs were very steep, so I would advise that if you go get an en suite bathroom instead of sharing otherwise had a brilliant time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is located in step-distance from all major Amsterdam places of interest, so you can just walk around the city from mornung till late night. There also is a chance to park your car near the hotel. However, you rather have to ask for local support, using Amsterdam park automats for the first time. It's quite complicated. The hotel itself is small and not very modern. If you come there - mind the stairs. They are as steep as on a battleship. Personnel is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay_Suslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Located at a good and quiet place. Room was too small for the price of over 70 Euro. Broken window, almost no closet to put in the clothes, No space for the hanger just in front of the shower. No proper table just a weak old piece of wood poorly fixed on the wall. Window glass missing just poorly covered with wood, window couldn't be closed because the closing system ws broken

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ruedi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just a dump. Tiny room which wouldn't be so bad if anything worked. The shower was broken and smelled really bad. No blinds on the skylight so as soon as the sun came up you were wide awake.
It wasn't even that close to the centre.
I stayed 1 night then checked in to the boutique hotel Sebastians for only 20 euros more.
You'd be better off in a hostel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank un-pc-big-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Upon arrival at this "Hotel" the door was locked. A phone number was left on a note stuck on the door. We rang the door bell. No-one answered the door. We were stuck outside with all our luggage after a long trip to get to the Netherlands. A guest eventually came out of a door and we managed to go in. A man was sitting inside at the admin desk and said that he had been there all the time. We asked why the locked door and why not answer the doorbell? He said he did not know why. The stairs were horrific and I would not recommend this hotel. We went across the road to Astoria Hotel where it was light, bright,clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kap Hotel is as another guest who was at the hotel when I was, a typical Amsterdam Value hotel

It is in many respects. Long walk up steep steps. Shared facilities and basic accommodations

There are only thing that makes it stand out against many of it's competitors.
First the location is excellent. It is close to the Museum District and with in an easy tram ride to the RAI center for conventions and Fairs

The other point of difference is the Manager Chaolai Chang..What the hotel lacks in amenities he makes up for in his personal service.

N o request is ignored. My hat is off to the hotel or should I say it's manager

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator get a room as close to the main floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#273 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#261 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#285 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#215 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing