We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Typical Amsterdam value hotel”
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #301 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ft Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Typical Amsterdam value hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kap Hotel is as another guest who was at the hotel when I was, a typical Amsterdam Value hotel

It is in many respects. Long walk up steep steps. Shared facilities and basic accommodations

There are only thing that makes it stand out against many of it's competitors.
First the location is excellent. It is close to the Museum District and with in an easy tram ride to the RAI center for conventions and Fairs

The other point of difference is the Manager Chaolai Chang..What the hotel lacks in amenities he makes up for in his personal service.

N o request is ignored. My hat is off to the hotel or should I say it's manager

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator get a room as close to the main floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    64
    59
    27
    27
See reviews for
23
46
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kap for 1 night in a room with a skylight that didn't close completely. When it rained in the middle of the night, water poured through the window & my mattress & I got wet. I ended up moving the bed about 1-2 feet so it wouldn't be directly under the skylight. If I'd been aware of this problem earlier, I would've requested a different room. Fortunately, I checked out the next morning. Even though Hotel Kap is centrally located & on a quiet street, I won't ever go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have stayed in far nicer youth hostels. Whole place run down and very dirty. Single rooms very cramped with nowhere to hang up a towel and no working plug to charge phone.Toilet in corridor shared with several other rooms. Open shower in room very smelly but at least there was plenty of hot water. Room not cleaned or made up on second day. Was told they 'had forgotten!' They also 'forgot friends room 2 floors down! They did deliver supposedly clean towels on request while we were out but arrived back to discover they were soaking wet. Window in room jammed open with a piece of wood. Very chilly! Breakfast basic and would be okay if they catered well. Arrive 5 minutes after start and already no rolls, butter or milk! Had to wait 20 minutes for more rolls to be cooked.
On the plus side the hotel is situated in an excellent position close to two main tram lines. Easy to walk to all main areas. Quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is really more a youth hostel than an hotel. I had to stay thee for one night. I got a room at the top floor (no elevator, very steep stairs). Window could not be closed (not convenient in December...), Neighbours came back and celebrated very loudly with alcohol in their room at 4am.
to select only if you want to go and party in A'dam and just need a cheap place to 'sleep'...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_from_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#279 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 367 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing