We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #11 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge hostel”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Flying pig is very centrally located; it's less than 5 minutes to dam square by walking. The hostel provides a decent breakfast in the morning and a bar with good prices. I stayed in a 32 person room, which means people are constantly coming in and out at all times of the day. There are sinks close to the beds but the bath rooms are down the hall and showers are in the basement. Since it is such a massive hostel, I didn't have a very personable experience with the staff and the majority of the guests, but I might just be more accustomed to smaller hostels.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    468
    165
    48
    34
See reviews for
22
135
274
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

it is a good hostel to say, i liked it very much. I didn't stay for breakfast. I did that ad the same place i had my breakfast all week, around the corner called pancakes & waffles.
The food they give is oke for the price.

the flying pig is really a very good hostel!

Room Tip: very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Its a very nice place to stay on Amsterdam. We stayed in mixed dorm of 16 as well as room for 4 people... Rooms are also very nice and pretty clean... Its centrally located and is near to Dam Square. Staff is also very courteous and helpful (considering we checked in and checked out at odd hours and that helped us in planning our visit in Amsterdam and suggesting nice places). Moreover, the crowd is also amazing.. you get to meet people from all the world..Best part is they give ear-plugs for free, which is of great help when some one in your room snoars!!

Room Tip: Do not forget to take ear-plug (for free) from reception..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muditshah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The rooms showers and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. It's easy to meet people at the bar downstairs for a night out. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you book a room with a bunch of people, be sure to wear earplugs. The only minor downside is that the wifi doesn't reach the dorm rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days with my partner, stayed in a 32 double bed dorm, i thought the beds were really comfortable and never had a bad nights sleep. i was on the ground floor so the toilets werent that far away. location is amazing, walking distance to everywhere. we travelled out to go to places like the heineken factory but just found that Amsterdam is stunning, especially with great weather. Everyone who stays at the hostel is so friendly and always up to share a spliff and chat. you dont need to go out everynight in amsterdam if your staying at this hostel. you can just chill there all evening untill you want to pass out.

If you can get up early enough they do basic breakfast, toast cereal, tea and coffee. but it gets you set for the day. I highly recommend. i had an amazing time and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodFoodHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The best part of The Flying Pig was definitely the staff! They were very friendly and extremely helpful! We arrived at 9:30am and they were very accommodating. The atmosphere of the hostel was also very cool and it gives you the real Amsterdam experience. The smoking room off the main room made the place smell a little, but you are in Amsterdam after all! This hostel is definitely better for college students, but enjoyed our stay regardless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at the flying pig for my stag-doo, was one of the main reasons why I had such a great time. Staff were welcoming and happy to chat and have a laugh with you. There were 10 of us, 4 in one room and 6 in the other. We had an ensuite, beds were comfy and the room was clean. There was wifi downstairs in the bar and smoking area. Free breakfast which was great. All the other guests that stayed there were all friendly as well. With my mates I wouldn't hesitate about returning, but with my partner I'm not too sure. Anyway I loved it and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XimenoHark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 229 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing