We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“GO WITH FRIENDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #11 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GO WITH FRIENDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

GO WITH FRIENDS GO WITH FRIENDS GO WITH FRIENDS.

I am an extremely successful 20 year old entrepreneur who travels constantly, but due to my young age, none of my companions have the ability to afford any of the places I go to.

The flying pig is for THE HOMIES.

Don't do the 5 star resorts or 4 star hotels... just hostel it up here...

It's for young people...

You can smoke weed inside

It's DOWNTOWN.

RIGHT NEXT TO EVERYTHING.

I love Amsterdam. See you soon beautiful dutch girls :)

Room Tip: Just book a private room if you can. Otherwise no sleep for you. Unless you smoke weed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    409
    145
    44
    31
See reviews for
17
109
232
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just book it!!!!!!!
I felt at home, and it was really sad to leave such a wonderfull place. The staff were friendly, easy going and although smoking is allowed on the smoking room, people act very respectfully (been there for 7 days) The flying pig downtown is the main reason i want to go to Amsterdam for the third time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitinh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and 5 friends went for a lads holiday to amsterdam for one of my friends birthday. I have been to amsterdam before and stayed in a hotel but decided to stay in a hostel this time. I have to say what i was expecting and what we got to different things. I thought dirty, noisy and full of disrespectful people. Far from it i had the best time of my life met some amazing people, staff were amazing, showers and rooms clean and tidy had a amazing time all for £20 a night with breakfast. The smoking room is the place to be spent alot of time there. The bar is cheap for amsterdam and in my eyes i didnt see much point in going to any other coffee shops or bars in amsterdam its all in the hostel. Deffo will be back to flying pig and def the best plave to stay in amsterdam

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in the flying pig and it was a great experience. I would definitely recommend it to young people who like to party and to know new people. The staff is really friendly. I would just recommend not to stay in a very big dorm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandarinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really great location, about 2 mins from Dam Square so plenty of opportunities to explore. All the staff I spoke to were friendly and many of them stayed in the bar (which was very reasonably priced) or the smoking room when they finished work, which was nice. Everyone was friendly and I really hope to stay there again.

Downsides - it was slightly expensive and basic (but then again it is a hostel!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadmanHanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are a backpacker, this is a great choice for Amsterdam. My girlfriend and I got to the city after an overseas flight and train ride, we were wrecked. We were happy to learn that the Flying Pig was only a short walk from the train station.

We showed up early so had to wait for our beds, but there was beer and food, so no issues there.

The people who run the place are great. Mostly other backpackers.

We had a couples bed, which is nice. The bar at night is good times.

Yes the price may seem high, but it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure you ask for something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hostel with great environment. Inclusive breakfast was pretty good. Had a smoking room where you can indulge in some.. Prices were cheap compared to other accommodations in Amsterdam. Rooms were simple and clean. Only gripe was that the shower drained too slowly and thus the bathroom was constantly flooded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jermyndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#10 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing