We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in the flying pig and it was a great experience. I would definitely recommend it to young people who like to party and to know new people. The staff is really friendly. I would just recommend not to stay in a very big dorm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandarinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    406
    143
    43
    31
See reviews for
16
108
228
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really great location, about 2 mins from Dam Square so plenty of opportunities to explore. All the staff I spoke to were friendly and many of them stayed in the bar (which was very reasonably priced) or the smoking room when they finished work, which was nice. Everyone was friendly and I really hope to stay there again.

Downsides - it was slightly expensive and basic (but then again it is a hostel!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadmanHanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are a backpacker, this is a great choice for Amsterdam. My girlfriend and I got to the city after an overseas flight and train ride, we were wrecked. We were happy to learn that the Flying Pig was only a short walk from the train station.

We showed up early so had to wait for our beds, but there was beer and food, so no issues there.

The people who run the place are great. Mostly other backpackers.

We had a couples bed, which is nice. The bar at night is good times.

Yes the price may seem high, but it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure you ask for something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hostel with great environment. Inclusive breakfast was pretty good. Had a smoking room where you can indulge in some.. Prices were cheap compared to other accommodations in Amsterdam. Rooms were simple and clean. Only gripe was that the shower drained too slowly and thus the bathroom was constantly flooded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jermyndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Only stayed here for one night. Location was great. Right downtown and about 5 min walk from the Dam Square. Rooms were very basic, but decently spacious with a good amount of storage per person. The room was a pricier than any other hostel I've stayed in, so I would say the value is so-so. Other than that I can't complain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank withseidelinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here February '14 and didn't regret it. Great facilities with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Other travellers were very thoughtful and respectful of others so it was easy to get a good nights sleep. I'd recommend Flying pig downtown to anybody staying in Amsterdam. Not to mention the brilliant prices too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

When i was studying abroad in Amsterdam last semester a friend of mine who came to visit me stayed at the flying pig, and i stayed with him there while he was visiting. It is a very central location, and is a good mid-point for everywhere that you will want to visit while in Amsterdam. It was clean, and not too expensive. I would recommend for younger to mid-age people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,108 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing