We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #10 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hostel with great environment. Inclusive breakfast was pretty good. Had a smoking room where you can indulge in some.. Prices were cheap compared to other accommodations in Amsterdam. Rooms were simple and clean. Only gripe was that the shower drained too slowly and thus the bathroom was constantly flooded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jermyndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    437
    154
    44
    34
See reviews for
20
118
254
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Only stayed here for one night. Location was great. Right downtown and about 5 min walk from the Dam Square. Rooms were very basic, but decently spacious with a good amount of storage per person. The room was a pricier than any other hostel I've stayed in, so I would say the value is so-so. Other than that I can't complain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank withseidelinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here February '14 and didn't regret it. Great facilities with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Other travellers were very thoughtful and respectful of others so it was easy to get a good nights sleep. I'd recommend Flying pig downtown to anybody staying in Amsterdam. Not to mention the brilliant prices too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

When i was studying abroad in Amsterdam last semester a friend of mine who came to visit me stayed at the flying pig, and i stayed with him there while he was visiting. It is a very central location, and is a good mid-point for everywhere that you will want to visit while in Amsterdam. It was clean, and not too expensive. I would recommend for younger to mid-age people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

When visiting Amsterdam, you really shouldn't be spending too much time in your room. With this in mind, you can't find better accommodations than those at the Flying Pig. The hotel/hostel is laid out to take advantage of the public areas, promoting interaction between guests. My fiance and I stayed in a private room, which was quite cozy despite a record-breaking winter storm. In addition to the friendly staff and clean rooms, the Flying Pig is also a great place to meet some very interesting characters from across the world and all walks of life. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The private rooms on the backside of floors 2 through 3 are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I went there and shared a 6 bed dorm with 4 friends. Nice and clean,staff where very helpful and friendly. Bar open till 3 am and a nice chilled smoking room. We were all 40 year olds but did not feel out of place even though most of people there were in their twenties. It's in a good location as well. Great fun and would go again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel is amazing. I had a wonderful time there. I stayed for 5 nights and changed (voluntarily) rooms 2 times, so I can say that all the rooms have good conditions! The location is perfect, 5 minutes from centraal station and the street has plenty of food and clothes stores. The staff is always helpfull and nice, you can actually see that they enjoy working there. The key card doesn't work so well, but you can go to the reception and they easily change it. The bathrooms are always clean and you can take an amazing shower downstairs. The bar is really nice to hang out, with friends or alone, you'll always find someone to talk to. If you're in the mood, you can always go to the smoking room that provides a relaxing environment. The kitchen is perfectly equiped and you don't have to cook your breakfast, because they offer it! So, in my opinion, this is the perfect hostel to enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you drink or smoke you probably want to stay in the rooms next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing