We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location,quick to Centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #11 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location,quick to Centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Flying Pig Hostel in Amsterdam is one of my favorite stays, if I am on budget and want to mingle with people, but don't want to give up on a great location near the city center of Amsterdam. I used to come at least once a year, up by train from Germany, get off in Amsterdam, and then take a stroll through the city to the hostel. No need for public transport, and if the weather is nice, your walk will lead you past most of the cities attractions so you get a good idea already of the distances an on where to go later.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 4 Nights
When: April 2012
Room: Standard Dormitory for 6 Adults
Price: 25 Euro (42 SGD)
Breakfast included - NO
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
The hostel is well located in the center of Amsterdam. Easily reachable by foot from the Main Train station. Max 10 minute walking. The main shopping areas are all directly around the hostel, the main plaza with its performers, Madam Tussauds, Casino, Gravts etc are in direct walking distance. We also went to discover the ”Torture" Museum which was "interesting" to say.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel / Rooms:
The Flying Pig is a hostel but it is very well maintained. The bedrooms were dormitories with 6 or 8 beds, but everything was clean, we liked the big windows, and the rooms were actually large sized, with big tables in the center. Lockers were available for each guest for free, just bring your own lock. There is a decent kitchen for self cooking and storage available, bathrooms were also cleaned every day and in good condition.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location
+ Price
+ Large Rooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    414
    148
    44
    31
See reviews for
18
112
236
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hostel is filled with young fun people which is exactly what we were looking for during our backpacking trip. We stayed in the room with the most people, I think it was a 28 bed room! Crazy! Needless to say it was an adventurous night. I would definitely recommend staying in a less full room, or maybe a private. But the hostel is fun and friendly and a true hostel experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the flying pig best hostel i've stayed in, in Amsterdam! the Location was GREAT really easy to get to everything was close by! Hostel was a good lay out and really liked the smoking room & the happy room down stairs :) Room was a good size we had a 4 bedroom ensuite , beds were a bit uncomfy felt like you were sleeping on plastic! breakfast was okay!

only issue we had was some things went missing from our room in the night, 2 people's wallets were emptied out and someones phone was taken.. :/ very strange as we had a private room ! The night that it happened we woke up to a man in our room asking if everything was okay. The money and phone were never found and we had reported it to reception who were not very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMayy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The flying pig is just an amazing hostel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lovely private room with a tv/dvd player and bathroom. Towels were included and room service came everyday. The smoking area was so cosy and the bar was also great. I would highly recommend this place for young people/couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors do not have wifi but they are very quiet and even thought the private rooms are a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Pretty decent hostel. Have stayed at both uptown and downtown and downtown is definitley better. Building is a much better layout with a lift as well. Also much better location than uptown.
Very poor wifi. Super annoying.
Beds are pretty tiny and feel like you're laying on plastic but the rooms are spacious as well as the lockers.

I stayed in a 14 bed mixed which had 2 ensuites which was great.
Cleaned every day.
Never made it up in time for breakfast lol.

Good bar and smoking room.

All staff were nice except for the red head chick on reception. Saw her being really nasty to customers on many occasions.

Decent priced during the week but on Fridays and Saturdays it absolutey sky rockets.
I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliseaashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for just one night before moving on. The hostel is great, good facilities, the free breakfast was really nice! Helpful staff. My only complaint is that when I got to my room someone was sleeping in my bed, however this was no fault of the hostel and could happen anywhere. The location is great, 5 mins from central station. I would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_Henchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The Flying Pig is so perfectly located it can't really be beat. It's within walking distance to almost every tourist location. The hostel itself is placed within a never ending shopping strip that caters to any need - food, clothes, book stores and coffee shops aplenty

The staff are incredibly friendly and fun and definitely personify the hostels atmosphere. The free breakfast was great providing cereals, fruits and toast. The hostel also provides free wifi which worked somewhat in our room but great everywhere else

The rooms are decent although Ive definitely stayed in better. My room also had a spacious bathroom and was also very clean. The rooms only fault are its loud metal lockers!!

As a solo traveller I found it easy to meet others in the bar downstairs with the help of a few games if a pool.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#138 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing