We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay for fun and meeting other travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #12 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay for fun and meeting other travellers”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is most definitely a no-frills place to stay, but of course that's the idea of a hostel instead of a hotel - a cheap base for exploring. My bedroom slept 6 (3 bunks) and had it's own toilet and shower room. Clean and comfortable with individual lockers (bring your own padlock or buy one for 3 euros at reception). No complaints with the room at all.

The reception and bar area is a good place to chat with other travellers or play pool, decently priced beer and other drinks are served until about 3am, depending on how busy it is. Staff are all very friendly and laid back. They also sell pizza but I didn't try it. Next to the bar is a smoking room with a massive area of cushions for chilling out, it gets foggy in here! There is also an open air smoking section too for those that want it.

There is also a kitchen and chill out room with a TV, you can get DVDs from reception to watch in here too.

The hostel is centrally based, a 5-10 minute walk from Centraal Station, so is convenient for loads of places. We walked everywhere but you can get trams, trains, buses or taxis from round the corner.

All in all, a great place for those who want to socialise and see this beautiful city. It can get pretty wild at night but in the best possible way!!

Room Tip: Don't forget a padlock for your locker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    471
    168
    48
    34
See reviews for
22
135
277
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel with 3 friends of mine on the 18th & 19th of February. It was my first hostel experience. The staff were excellent and the place is very secure. It's location is perfect, just up a road called Damrak (the main route from central station). Breakfast consisted of toast, cereal, boiled egg and fruit, along with free tea or coffee. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I met people from around the world. American, Dutch, Spanish, Italian, Chile, Brazil and Argentina just to name a few! I would certainly recommend this place if your looking for a good time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night (09-Feb'13). Though this hotel has an upper age limit of 40, I was allowed on a special request. They offer you everything right from a button to a laptop (on hire). The crowd all young and jiving, make this a lively place. Breakfast which is included along with room tariff is very good and you may even find it better than many budget hotels. The lady at the reception knows how to take care of guests. Very helpful

Room Tip: They are very reasonable and if you have any request, they will try to help you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Came with a couple of Friends a few years back. The Flying Pig was a fun and extremely social place to stay. We stayed in the dorms, which of course is a chaotic place to try sleep, but once we got settled and formed a group with other patrons. We attacked Amsterdam in force.

The Backpackers was friendly and clean. The showers worked (which is all i ask for at a backpackers) It location is fantastic. Central and nearby all the top coffee shops and attractions.

Safe and fun.

Room Tip: I would always recommend private rooms, but if you are staying in a dorm it is perfectly fine. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mighty_7_Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hostel was in a brilliant location, Amsterdam's Train station is quite centrel to the town and the Flying Pig is on one of the main high streets just before the square, so your just a short walk from both. your defenetly in the thick of it.
the staff were friendly and helpfull and the bar area was somewhere you could easily spend your evening.
The bedrooms were in need of a little Tlc but to be honest we were very rarely in them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

me and my mate stayed in the flying pig downtown for 4 nights and both thought it was great. the bar had a great atmosphere and it didnt matter which night it was there was always something going on. it was really central, we met so many awesome people and i really just didnt wana leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Planning a trip with some mates to Amsterdam, it seemed that the 20-something backpacker crowd could only stay at the Flying Pig. This of course meant that it was very hard to find a vacancy but with some creative juggling of travel dates and occasionally finding ourselves sharing a double bed we managed to book accommodation.

Like I said, I had very high expectations of the Flying Pig, but it proved to be exactly what we were looking for: a comfortable, friendly home from which we could explore Amsterdam. With a bar, pool table and wifi it was a great place to socialise and sleep off the night before.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
74 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 231 in Amsterdam
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing