We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable. You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable. You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hostel has a good location. The bar, smoking room and outdoor area are all really good. Cheap drinks! The staff are helpful and you can get free earplugs (trust me, you need them)
The rooms aren't exactly clean, two days in a row our bed had extra doona's and pillows on it and they appeared from no where, we think they got put there when the room was being cleaned? We didn't really appreciate someone elses dirty linen though.
Room security was our main concern. We stayed in a 18 bed dorm room that backed out onto the courtyard. The door is able to be opened and people can freely access your room. We had an incident with a traveller who was not a guest at the hostel who was sleeping on everyones beds, asking people to borrow their keys ect. He slept on the chair in the room. I was uncomfortable and reported my concerns to staff. They were prompt to act and the guest was removed from the facility. So it was bitter sweet. There is a safe at reception and i strongly recommend you use this facility. Otherwise you have a locker, dont forget a padlock.
Don't stay in an 18 bed dorm if you expect to get sleep :) The ear plugs are a god send though!
The bathrooms are average. Clean enough but some have no hot water control and there is minimal to no shelving/hooks to put your stuff on.
The breakfast facilities are pretty good! Very good considering it's free! The free wifi is really good, we had no connection problems.
Overall, I would consider staying at the hostel if I could not get a hotel room. A good place if you are on a strict budget.

Room Tip: For security reasons I wouldn't stay in room 01 as this is the room that backs onto the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    414
    147
    44
    31
See reviews for
17
112
236
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great location, everything Amsterdam has to offer right on your doorstep or close by. Clean rooms and bedding. Good value for money. Staff friendly but busy! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOLLIESurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

stayed here from the 1st july till the 3rd july 2012
decent little hostel , great location 5mins from train station
bar ok but when busy staff can be a little slow they should really have someone go around serving drinks ;>
had room on third floor , basic room but done the job
would recommend for people to stay here mostly due to the location


friendly staff
met some good people from Chile, France, Scotland England Canada


only negs i can think of
hostel is pricey , hostels ,hotels prices need to drop in amsterdam as i feel more people are traveling to eastern europe
all the coloured people in the streets trying to sell drugs , why dont the police just go round undercover and lock them all up

Room Tip: twin rooms for 2 people are good book in advance tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viewsonic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Flying Pig has a great location only a few minutes walk from....anything you could want in Amsterdam. It has perfectly acceptable, clean beds (bunk beds) which have large cage lockers under them for storage, if you don't have a padlock you can purchase one from reception for a nominal fee. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fine. I stayed in a 6 bed shared room with 2 friends and never had trouble sleeping (however we were probably the loud ones), however if you are a light sleeper ear plugs are provided free at reception. The hostel has a bar and smoking area which has chess sets, books, a bed (with a no sleeping sign), an outside terrace and paraphernalia like grinders and bongs. Breakfast is simple but pleasant. Towels can be rented for free if you put down a 2 euro deposit. The staff were all friendly and we genuinely had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is smaller rooms, so quieter but middle floor people don't get kicked out on check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Firstly I would like to thank the lovely staff at the reception desk for making one feel at home in an instant. I stayed for one night in a single room. Clean, good sheets, quiet policy was implemented so I got a good night's sleep (keep it up please!), bathroom was clean. It could be nice to have maybe more stowage space in the room, but all and all I would definitely recommend people to stay here. Nice breakfast, perfect location, nice vibe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed here in a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom on late May 2012. I was kind of concerned about the whole "party hostel" reviews. It was definitely not my experience. Luckily, the party was somewhere else, bar was not crowded at all. I was on the 3rd floor and I could sleep well every night. And I stayed on a weekend! The place is nice, very well located and safe. You need your key card to access the hostel, the elevator and your room. It's small, yes, but all Amsterdam is. And it has an elevator, which is great if you carry a big suitcase.
Place to keep your stuff are cages under the bed. No chance to get a suitcase or big backpack in there so have this in mind and also the fact that everyone can see what´s inside the cages. There are big lockers downstairs but you have to pay a daily fee for them.
The room was pretty clean and the shared bathrooms downstairs also.
The street were is located is a pedestrian street parallel to the main Damrak street. It is very lonely at night, it makes you feel uneasy when coming back late but I never had a problem. This place is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for 5 days. It was the absolute best hostel i've stayed in thus far. Great people with a very laid back atmosphere. The bar was incerdible too, we had so many jaegerbombs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhenrong p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing