We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Party Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #11 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Awesome Party Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great spot to party and base yourself while exploring Amsterdam. I stayed here for a week. Went out to a couple of clubs but stayed in for most of my trip because it was so much fun! You should be ready to meet new people when coming here, don't shy away simply because you might not be able to find room for your whole group to be together in one space when in the lounge area. No complaints at all, everyone was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was live, and the bartender was pretty hot.

Room Tip: Four person rooms should be the quietest during the night. Lower floors mean less steps, but closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madg0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    448
    159
    44
    34
See reviews for
20
123
261
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The flying pig is one of Europe's top hostels and for good reason. It is extremely unique, well priced, central, and lots of fun. The downtown location offers walking distance to pretty much everything you need and more including an in house smoke room/club. Fair warning though this club gets VERY noise until about 4am every night. If you are looking for high-school thru college aged party with cheap drinks, pool, and wifi the downtown location is for you. An equally fun, but less noisy experience would be the uptown location located closer to the "Van Gogh" museum and " I Amsterdam" sculpture.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

There were great things about this hostel. Nice staff, early check-in, comfortable indoor smoking area. However, there were also a lot of so-so things. The outdoor smoking area was small and crowded, and I like to smoke outdoors when the weather is nice. The bathrooms were kind of gross, but that's to be expected with so many people. The bedrooms were really gross - again, expected, but I still didn't like it. My friend who stayed in the basement claims to have gotten bedbugs there (bleh!). The staff were really super nice, but not so knowledgeable. I asked a woman at reception about the pub-crawl, and she couldn't tell me much except bad directions. She had even run out of the pamphlets. There were too many (stoned) people all over the place to really have a conversation. I canceled my 2nd night there.
Like I said before, all the so-so aspects of this hostel are because it's so big, so I recommend staying at a smaller hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veryveronicaIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Firstly do not go here for anything else than fun. The place is a 'smoking' hostel which can be fairly noisy. We stayed here as friend coming have have a drink and stay up late so the accommodation very much served its purpose for us.

The downstairs bar is good with a decent lay-down/seating area for people enjoying special cigarettes. The rooms are clean enough and very basic. Its not supposed to be luxury, its supposed to be economical and lively. If that's what you want, go there, if not, don't!

This place is very cheep, which I imagine for the backpackers is a haven. As a city break I would upgrade in future visits as the place is basic at best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMShiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

i stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and i couldnt ask for more. this hotel has all you need, rental towel, kitchen, smoking room, rental laptop and free hair dryers. the bed was clean, the staff were friendly, the bathrooms were a bit dirty but not the toilets. i met a lot of cool people here including the staff, so i have nothing to complain. the only problem u will find here is that its very noisy esp the room i stayed at (B1) which faced to the smoking room where everyone was hanging out besides than that i suggest this hostel to all the travelers esp the solo travelers like me

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelee086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

the staff was helpfull when i lost my wallet
they find it for me I left it in the bathroom
the beds are good and a special smoking area
great this is the second hostel in the netherlands I will recommand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelcloiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

It was really easy to get to from the train station and the staff was quick and friendly with the check-in. We got to our room, and got everything stored in our large locker. The room was clean, as were the bathrooms and showers. The beds and pillows were the best of all the hostels we stayed in, and I liked the little shelves at the head of the bed (we were in the double bunk beds) Of course the wi-fi was only in the lobby and to just outside our room door, but that wasn't a big deal. They even have a computer there to use if you don't have one. If we are ever in Amsterdam again, we would stay here again. The location is great, the rooms are great and the staff is great!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCurlyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#143 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing