We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly Party Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Ranked #11 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Firstly do not go here for anything else than fun. The place is a 'smoking' hostel which can be fairly noisy. We stayed here as friend coming have have a drink and stay up late so the accommodation very much served its purpose for us.

The downstairs bar is good with a decent lay-down/seating area for people enjoying special cigarettes. The rooms are clean enough and very basic. Its not supposed to be luxury, its supposed to be economical and lively. If that's what you want, go there, if not, don't!

This place is very cheep, which I imagine for the backpackers is a haven. As a city break I would upgrade in future visits as the place is basic at best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMShiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

i stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and i couldnt ask for more. this hotel has all you need, rental towel, kitchen, smoking room, rental laptop and free hair dryers. the bed was clean, the staff were friendly, the bathrooms were a bit dirty but not the toilets. i met a lot of cool people here including the staff, so i have nothing to complain. the only problem u will find here is that its very noisy esp the room i stayed at (B1) which faced to the smoking room where everyone was hanging out besides than that i suggest this hostel to all the travelers esp the solo travelers like me

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelee086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

the staff was helpfull when i lost my wallet
they find it for me I left it in the bathroom
the beds are good and a special smoking area
great this is the second hostel in the netherlands I will recommand

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelcloiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

It was really easy to get to from the train station and the staff was quick and friendly with the check-in. We got to our room, and got everything stored in our large locker. The room was clean, as were the bathrooms and showers. The beds and pillows were the best of all the hostels we stayed in, and I liked the little shelves at the head of the bed (we were in the double bunk beds) Of course the wi-fi was only in the lobby and to just outside our room door, but that wasn't a big deal. They even have a computer there to use if you don't have one. If we are ever in Amsterdam again, we would stay here again. The location is great, the rooms are great and the staff is great!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianCurlyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Flying pig has changed a lotttttttttt over the last decade. I first stayed here in 2000 and then again in 2002, 2004, 2007, and last in August 2010. The pool table and seating arrangement at the entrance is totally changed over the years, so have a lot of the rules. in simple words...it was a lottttttttt more chilled out before than it is now. Its still the same place pretty much physically, but on my last trip i noticed the feeling and vibe n rules being different and then learned it had recently been sold by its original owner. However, all in all a great hostel to stay at today, just good as bull dogg or any other new hostel sprung up in the last few years. There is nothin that makes this place as special and different as it used to be, its like any other good hostel now.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank shanawaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hostel is a fun house and its in a prime location. Easy access to all the trains and buses. My friend and I had a private room on the 3rd floor and I slept like a baby in the super comfy beds and even with all the partying that's going on downstairs and in the city I didn't hear a thing.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a private room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I was on a stag (bachelor) party, and our intention was to party hard, stay up to the early hours and drink excessively. All goals were achieved with flying colours, helped by the Flying Pig & staff.

Staff were friendly, accommodating and even helped out with the stag challenges.

Bar and adjacent smoke room are open til late which can be heard on the first floor. I stayed top floor and couldn't hear much at all - was pretty quiet.

Bedroom was a 4-man bunk on top floor. Clean, newly renovated with en-suite bathroom.

Highly recommended for party people/easy going/stoners, not so for people looking for a quiet or romantic stay. Would definitely return for another party weekend.

Room Tip: Top floor, 4 bed. Room 302/303
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamstaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,178 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,631 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $44 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing