We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great food”
Review of Ponte Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Ponte Vecchio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #598 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centrum
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I was walking with my husband and got hungry and saw this little Italian restaurant, read the outside menu and it sounded like a good idea.
We were seated, and the gentleman who was the waiter/ cook/cashier was really nice. He was by himself that day but he did an outstanding job.
Everything was so delicious!
Service was impeccable,and prices were very reasonable.
The only thing about this restaurant was that we could smell a bit next door there's a "coffee shop" so once in a while we smelled pot, but it's Amsterdam, plus it didn't really bothered us. We loved the food there, i had bruschetta, eggplant and gnocci and ate every single thing!
I would totally recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    62
    23
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on our last night in Amsterdam. We were so happy that we finished off our trip in such a lovely little restaurant. It was very busy but the one gentleman who was serving was lovely! Very polite, helpful and friendly. Then came the food! Wow, really impressed. My husband had the bruschetta which he said was fab and I had the special mixed salad. It was gorgeous. Our main courses were hot and soooo good. Lasagne and pasta, fab. We finished off with ice cream and chocolate sauce which was also delicious. It's not a fancy place, but it is so cute and cosy that you really don't care. If we are ever back in Amsterdam, we will return to this great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherilyn654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Stumbled upon”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We were out exploring the city and came across this beautiful little place by chance. It was quiet so we decided to give it a try and we were very impressed. The waiter was very polite. My partner had a pasta dish and I had a pizza. The quality of the food was surprisingly good. Afterwards walking away we felt we had gotten really good value for money. All in all a lovely experience. We would be happy to eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank luckyliam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice people”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Selected this place thanks to TA. It was very quiet, just another table of five, one of two and us two.

Manager/owner - who turns out to be Egyptian but chef is Italian - was friendly without being over friendly - just right!

I had the mushrooms to start, just ordinary mushrooms but nicely cooked with garlic. Funnily enough, the owner said the special was pasta with prawns & mushrooms which other reviewers have mentioned - maybe it's on every night.

Then we both had pizzas, nice thin crusts and proper knifes to cut them with. The pizzas didn't show those burnt bubbly marks but then not all pizzas are the same. These were fine.

The owner gave us limoncellas on the house which I LOVE!

All in all, a pleasant meal with excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice 'Italian' Italian restaurant”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile


Sounds a bit Irish, but we get a lot of English style Italian restaurants in England. They are OK but not served like you would get in Italy.
This rest is more in true Italian style.
Home made and delicious. If you have a main meat dish, I had chicken with peas, its served on its own on the plate with side dish of creamed potatoes.
My partner had a nice lasagne, good flavour and not bechamel overdosed.
Bruch mista to share as starter lovely.
Very nice fresh cooked meal at reasonable price and no problem to recommend.
Will return.
Eddie n Christine

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte Vecchio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing