We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small but quirky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kattenkabinet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kattenkabinet
Ranked #68 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lots of odd cat related pictures in a really cool old canal house. There's also some museum cats lounging around who are quite happy to be petted!

Perhaps a little overpriced for the size, but definitely fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
13
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Having two cats at home, we were very interested in this and had a great time looking at the weird artwork and the various cat bits and bobs. The best bit was seeing the real life cats wandering about and knocking lumps out of each other! They were very playful and enjoyed being clapped while they ripped apart the catpets and furniture.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer-Sheva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hidden away in this small 4 room museum are works by Picaso and Rembrant which are displayed modestly along with many more cat-related paintings and art-objects, if it wasn't for a small perspex plate beside them, I could have easily missed their origin. Obviously, there are quite a few house cats about as well :)

While the museum was great fun, 6 EUR for a 15-20 min visit is a bit of a steep price to my taste. If you can enter for free using a city/museum card (and love cats) this is a must. Otherwise, take the price under consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great little museum, four beautiful rooms and hallways displaying cats in art and commercials. Interesting to see that Picasso sucked at drawing cats... we were also welcomed by three residentials that lived in the house. Three very friendly and cuddly striped cats thar made their very best to make us feel welcome. They had their own very special waterhole in the museum. Go see..... We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaDairynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As cat lovers, when we saw this mentioned in our guide book we thought we had to visit. The disappointment started when we arrived. It consists of a small collection of posters and other cat artefacts in 3 rooms of a house. It was so dull that I am really struggling to remember any artefacts to mention in this review! A cat-themed pin-ball machine was the highlight of the visit. Other than that it is just a collection of pictures and ornaments, most of which are very shabby.

There were 2 live cats in reception as we left, but I was concerned about how thin and under-nourished they seemed. When I stroked them they were like bags of bones. They were more like strays than cared-for pets.

I suppose you could possibly consider this to be a quirky or eccentric place for cat lovers and accept it as that. However when you compare the admission cost of EUR6 against EUR10 to get into Anne Frank’s House I think I am justified in expecting quite a lot more.

This place is not worth visiting and the people who run it should not be encouraged.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Perthshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This museum is located in a house at the side of a smaller canal and is not very big. However it is stuffed full with different cat-themed artwork, some of it better than others but all decidedly feline. There were some artworks by renowned artists on display, including a Rembrandt drawing and a Pablo Picasso drawing, and the works by less famed artists are also fun.

My mum and I visited this museum whilst it was being re-organised, and the staff members moving displays around were quite loud and rude, ignoring the fact that they still had visitors in the museum. At one point one of them knocked a painting off the wall and then laughed.

There are some displays which feel a bit like they're mocking the visitor - like a cat made out of a cardboard box and tape, and a statue with a pompom jacket on - but these might also just be a sign of curators who really like anything to do with cats. This museum is fun and indulges cat-lovers, so I hope it is the latter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the posters and artwork in this museum, but I can see where others might not be so inclined. Please only go to this museum if you are extremely interested in cats and cat art. This is also just a small museum, so don't expect hundreds of items. It's just an old house, 2 or 3 stories of small rooms with lots of cat posters and some cat sculptures and paintings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#131 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam 4holiday
Amsterdam 4holiday
#103 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Brem's Apartments
Brem's Apartments
#102 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Property: Kattenkabinet
Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kattenkabinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing