We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small, but great fun for cat lovers (museum)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kattenkabinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kattenkabinet
Ranked #68 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Beer-Sheva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, but great fun for cat lovers (museum)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hidden away in this small 4 room museum are works by Picaso and Rembrant which are displayed modestly along with many more cat-related paintings and art-objects, if it wasn't for a small perspex plate beside them, I could have easily missed their origin. Obviously, there are quite a few house cats about as well :)

While the museum was great fun, 6 EUR for a 15-20 min visit is a bit of a steep price to my taste. If you can enter for free using a city/museum card (and love cats) this is a must. Otherwise, take the price under consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    21
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
61
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great little museum, four beautiful rooms and hallways displaying cats in art and commercials. Interesting to see that Picasso sucked at drawing cats... we were also welcomed by three residentials that lived in the house. Three very friendly and cuddly striped cats thar made their very best to make us feel welcome. They had their own very special waterhole in the museum. Go see..... We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaDairynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As cat lovers, when we saw this mentioned in our guide book we thought we had to visit. The disappointment started when we arrived. It consists of a small collection of posters and other cat artefacts in 3 rooms of a house. It was so dull that I am really struggling to remember any artefacts to mention in this review! A cat-themed pin-ball machine was the highlight of the visit. Other than that it is just a collection of pictures and ornaments, most of which are very shabby.

There were 2 live cats in reception as we left, but I was concerned about how thin and under-nourished they seemed. When I stroked them they were like bags of bones. They were more like strays than cared-for pets.

I suppose you could possibly consider this to be a quirky or eccentric place for cat lovers and accept it as that. However when you compare the admission cost of EUR6 against EUR10 to get into Anne Frank’s House I think I am justified in expecting quite a lot more.

This place is not worth visiting and the people who run it should not be encouraged.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Perthshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This museum is located in a house at the side of a smaller canal and is not very big. However it is stuffed full with different cat-themed artwork, some of it better than others but all decidedly feline. There were some artworks by renowned artists on display, including a Rembrandt drawing and a Pablo Picasso drawing, and the works by less famed artists are also fun.

My mum and I visited this museum whilst it was being re-organised, and the staff members moving displays around were quite loud and rude, ignoring the fact that they still had visitors in the museum. At one point one of them knocked a painting off the wall and then laughed.

There are some displays which feel a bit like they're mocking the visitor - like a cat made out of a cardboard box and tape, and a statue with a pompom jacket on - but these might also just be a sign of curators who really like anything to do with cats. This museum is fun and indulges cat-lovers, so I hope it is the latter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
300 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the posters and artwork in this museum, but I can see where others might not be so inclined. Please only go to this museum if you are extremely interested in cats and cat art. This is also just a small museum, so don't expect hundreds of items. It's just an old house, 2 or 3 stories of small rooms with lots of cat posters and some cat sculptures and paintings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I are both Cat lover's so decided to visit this museum. I would have given the 3 but a price of 6 euro's seems so steep for this museum.

It is a small museum with interesting artifacts, ornaments and pictures and poster's of Cats. It is spread over three rooms. There we no descriptions or facts or anything written about cats anywhere in the museum, which was a disappointment.

My main bug bearer was the price, 6 euro's is very steep when you consider you can visit the houseboat museum for half the price, and it is a very similar experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Do you remember the artwork of Al Stewart's 33rpm "Year Of The Cat"? Kattenkabinet will bring you to the same atmosphere. A wonderful little cat-themed museum that will bring a big smile on feline lovers’ faces. Beautifully decorated, arranged and last but not least, romantically located. If you are lucky, you can have some playful time with one of the three real cats (two young twins and a kind elegant 17 years old lady cat) who will greet you and sleep on your knees purring when you sit. They're the real stars of the place. :)
The lady at the counter is helpful, smiling and obviously loves cats.
For everyone who loves cats and art.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoMeoKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#189 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam 4holiday
Amsterdam 4holiday
#105 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
#44 of 224 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Guest House Citydrop
Guest House Citydrop
#250 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coco's Outback Apartments
Coco's Outback Apartments
#81 of 224 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Property: Kattenkabinet
Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing