We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ballet at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch National Opera & Ballet

Dutch National Opera & Ballet
Ranked #19 of 447 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dutch National Opera & Ballet is the foremost institution for opera and ballet in the heart of Amsterdam. As the largest cultural institution in the Netherlands, Dutch National Opera & Ballet brings all aspects of the ballet & opera-world's artistry, technique & craftsmanship together with its own specialised workshops & rehearsal rooms. Follow a tour in the building or enjoy one of the opera or ballet performances.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ballet at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not only the ensemble but also the choreographie are again and again of high quality...creative and simply a pleasure to see, enjoy and admire!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank enama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    205
    50
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Affordable opera and ballet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Going to the opera and ballet is not the realm of the elite in Amsterdam. Tickets are cheaper than many rock concerts. Not as cheap as eastern parts of europe but still great. I went to the ballet and found men not in tie. This was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank w-wondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Dance Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I attended two performances of this company in our visit this September. The performance hall is conveniently located in the middle of the city. The seats were comfortable and the sight lines excellent. The quite varied pieces we saw over two nights were performed with the highest level of perfection. The live orchestra was excellent. If you like ballet you will enjoy seeing this company during a visit to Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank markcinnamonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Architecturally debateable outside, the venue is superb inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love that Amsterdam is so serious about its cmmitment to the arts that City Hall is in the same building as the National Opera & National Ballet! Love or hate the exterior of the red brick and white(ish) marble it is a wonderful place to spend the evening if you are lucky enough to get tickets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful ballet perofrmance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place was just next to the river . Easy access by tram from Main station .

My family with two teens , watched the ballet group performing " Romeo and Juliet ". The seats feel very comfortable and we enjoy the performances very much .

As for the building I would rate it good .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank woosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch National Opera & Ballet also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dutch National Opera & Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing